We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable tour, fantastic guide!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Streets of San Francisco Bike Tours

Streets of San Francisco Bike Tours
370 Linden St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Hayes Valley)
+1 415-448-7673
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 394 Activities in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SoSF is your #1 source for all things biking San Francisco. We know the city's best bike routes, especially the ones that go around the hills. We show you San Francisco's wild history and modern trends, including food, art, music, kooky local politics, and, of course, all things bicycles. Our guided bike tours focus on the city's neighborhoods and include: Unique history, diverse neighborhoods, Victorian architecture, public art, awesome bikes, & tasty local cuisine. Fun, friendly, local guides lead you through safe, bike-friendly routes that go around those infamous hills. Discounts for students, teachers, and military. We offer 3 guided tours in spring and 4 in summer: Heart of the City: 3-3.5 Hrs, $65/person, about 9 miles: Explore the city's interior neighborhoods including the Mission, Haight-Ashbury, and Civic Center. The Classic: 4.5-5 Hrs, $89/person, about 12 miles: Everything the Heart of the City has plus the Castro, SoMa, some additional stops, and a lunch break to taste delicious local cuisine. 7X7: 5.5-6 Hrs, $99/person, 17-18 miles with a stop for lunch. This tour is our epic day out on the bikes circumnavigating the city! The Bay Roller: (Summer only) 4.5-5 Hrs, $89/person explores the culture and history of San Francisco's northeastern neighborhoods and famous waterfront landscapes.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable tour, fantastic guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked the SoSF bike tour based on Tripdadvisor reviews and i'm so glad we did, it was onle of the highlinghts of our trip. Our guide Josh was amazing, really knowledgeable of the city and - as other reviewers have remarked - brings you to hidden spots that you would never find on your own.We enjoyed the tour so much that we rented bikes ourselves the next day and cycled the Golden Gate bridge to Sausolito and then got ferry back to Fishermans wharf and cycled back down to Haight Ashbury and the Mission. We probably wouldn't have done this if it weren't for the great experience we had with SoSF on the previous day. Book early as this is a really popular tour!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    17
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Make sure it's on your to-do list.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic ride (7x7). Very cruisey and not difficult at all.
Guide Josh was a legend. Has amazing knowledge of the city being that he has lived there his whole life.
Not only did we see all the tourist spots but also did many hidden locations that most tourist would not know about.
Well worth every cent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Took me to cool places I would never have thought of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I've been to San Francisco once before and seen all the obvious tourist stuff, so I looked on TripAdvisor from something different, this tour fit the bill. My hubby and I took the three hour tour, only because we didn't have much time (we were on a road trip going over 5 states, so only a couple of days in San Francisco.) Neither of us had ridden a bike for years so were a bit concerned, but there was nothing to worry about.

Our guide, Beebe, was very helpful and friendly and the bikes were very comfy and easy to ride. San Francisco is VERY bike friendly and no motorist would risk hitting you, unlike the UK where they'd love to knock you over if they could get away with it! Beebe told us a lot about San Francisco history, local politics and social stuff. She told us about the hippies, trustafarians, the murder of Harvey Milk and subsequent riots. We went through Golden Gate park and discussed early San Francisco history plus much more. We saw local people hang out and just learned about what life is like in the area, from rich to poor. It was very interesting and I'm very glad we did it.

The tour was meant to be 3 hours long but in fact ran over by 40 minutes, this is because our guide talked and talked and talked, and at times went off subject and didn't always listen to our questions fully so didn't answer them well - but in the nicest way!! My hubby and I soon found out that this is the Californian way and by no means exclusive to Beebe. After conversations with various Californians, from different areas, varying walks of life, we soon realised that they do indeed talk and talk and talk (and don't listen much, resulting in a lot of musundersanding!!!) - once you get used to it and get over the fact that you will never get anywhere on time, it's very amusing!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Excellent way to see San Fran, very interesting insights as well.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Took the Classic tour, wanted to do the 7x7, but there wasn't one scheduled. Bebe is a very vibrant tour guide, full of energy and information and is so enthusiastic about San Fran, you can't fail to be taken along. The equipment provided was of very good quality and the guides are also mechanics if something needs adjusting, which is very helpful.
I thought the tour was great, you get to hear loads of really interesting aspects of the sights that you would otherwise be oblivious to.
It's not physically demanding, although, you do need to be slightly fit to get up some of the hills.
Overall, nothing was too much trouble, this is a young vibrant tour company and people should support them, you wil get plenty in return.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome day in a fabulous city on the 7x7 tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I had been to San Francisco many times but never experienced the city in this way. Our tour guide Tim was friendly, fun and knowledgeable. The day was filled with history, art, spectacular views, food, and oh yes chocolate! It was a warm sunny day (unusual for San Francisco) which made it even more enjoyable. This tour was six hours but really gives you a great overview of the highlights of San Francisco in a short amount of time. If you followed up with one of the recommended restaurants after the tour you really would have a good feel for the city.
We rode around most of the hills (there were still a few) but stopped frequently so it was not a problem. Dress comfortably and bring layers as the weather can change throughout the day. The baskets on the bikes were helpful for the extras.
It was an awesome tour that I would highly recommend for anyone that is ready for fun and adventure! I loved it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Streets of San Francisco Bike Tours also viewed

 

Been to Streets of San Francisco Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Streets of San Francisco Bike Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.