We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunny, Snuggly Spot in the Heart of San Francisco!

San Francisco
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LearningC...
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Great value and good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just a few blocks up from the Castro, Andrew and Steffi run a clean, convenient charming pair of rental properties. We stayed here Christmas wee 2013 and were very happy with the accommodations. Andrew and Steffi and baby Ronja have a nice niche in the hospitality biz out here and they are doing a great job growing it.

They provide a whole lot of personalized information about the neighborhood on a map of the area. We found it charming and quite useful. We also received a few small gifts and conveniences during our stay adding a nice, personal touch that we very much appreciated.

There are several markets nearby:
Mollie Stones is the nearest, a small city market they have a deli, produce, fresh breads, fruit, wine & beer and all the other sundries you'd need to construct a nice meal for yourself in the kitchen.
Also nearby (though a bit longer walk):
Whole Foods Market @ 2001 Market St
Safeway @ 2020 Market St

There are also plenty of corner markets, bakeries, coffee pastry shops, etc. nearby.

Things to know about the unit:
The bed is comfortable. We rated it in our top 10 for bedding at places we have visited. For sleeping it's one of the better features of this rental place, especially considering that it is a Murphy Bed.
Which brings us to what is not comfortable (and this is one of our few hang-ups with the unit) is that you cannot comfortably sit and watch TV at night or sit in bed together reviewing the days pictures. Because it's a murphy bed there is a bit of a gap and no real headboard. We made due by putting pillows on the corner but a pair of triangular pillow "husbands" would make for a more comfortable bed prior to a nights rest.

The kitchen is stocked with all the utensils you'll need to cook a decent meal and enjoy your favorite beverages. The oven and microwave work quite well, the electric tea kettle is awesome and works well and quickly and the coffee maker is adequate though a typical coffee maker in that it takes some days to figure out the right amount of coffee beans to get the strength of coffee you want. Hey, the world is our to figure out. We figure it out.

We made several great meals here and made most of our breakfasts here. A couple of those were quite good and will stick with us as nice personal memories of this great little unit on the hill by the Castro.

Other important details:
You're near the MUNI, can take the BA and the BART and once you get in the habit, you'll find you can get all over San Francisco in a reasonable amount of time. By Boston standards, the transportation system is easy to understand and the people that operate those vehicles and stations are very, very nice people. Within days you're likely to be able to get from one end of the peninsula to the other. One more note: the trams are above ground and going to the embarcadero this way is sweet and nostalgic and makes for a great way to visually see the city. The same lines also run underground with more modern, fast paced commuter trains. Once the novelty wears off, these are worth trying.

The Cable the TV and the WI-FI all work well.
The bathroom and lions claw tub are functional, but baths here are not as convenient as showers. So, why not conserve water?

Finally, due to our late departure we were fortunate to be invited to spend some time on the back patio as we waited for our car service. The back patio area was lovely and florid and made for a nice place to rest before departure. Andrew is a charming host, and quite at ease both improving the property and providing useful and appropriate tips about the area. We think that you will find your stay to be pleasant and a great value.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
PippaDors...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, great apartment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 4 nights in November 2013. We had a few issues with payment through TripAdvisor which Andrew was quick & happy to help sort out - he was very helpful.

Andrew's wife Stef helped us settle in and was very friendly - they'd provided lots of local information which made finding dinner and exploring the area easy. She was very friendly, made us feel at home, then left us to it which made it feel very much like our own little place!

The apartment is a perfect base for exploring the city - there is a comfortable bedroom/living room with a Murphy bed and a sofa, with a TV and plenty of channels. There's a spacious walk-in wardrobe and a spacious, clean, tasteful bathroom. The kitchen is amazing, and very well-equipped.

On-street parking is a bit of an issue, unless you're out in your car most of the day there are restrictions and without a permit you can't leave it outside the apartment, but we were helpfully told the nearest restriction-free area a few blocks up the road (and up the hill). We left our car there and used public transport for our entire stay.

The apartment is located close to the lively Castro district, the heart of which is a very short walk of about 3 blocks away - though you never get any bar/road noise.

All in all I would highly recommend this apartment for any couples (or singles) exploring San Francisco, and if you're aiming for Castro in particular you cannot go wrong.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, beautiful kitchen & bathroom.
Liked least: Parking.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jan B
1 review
“Does holiday rental get any better for this price and location?????”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Great little apartment with very good clean facilities--- superbly comfortable and so easy to live in. We found the location wonderful----- close to a great supermarket in "Molly Browns", close to good transport to and from the CBD, close to quirky fascinating bars and close to interesting shopping. The locals are friendly and very helpful and we always felt safe. The owners Andrew and Steph are the perfect hosts------friendly, helpful and gracious --- they make it a fabulous pleasure to stay with them

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Being there
Liked least: The hilly streets
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RoMi1611
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place, lovely host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We absolutely loved this place. Its bright and airy, is super clean and super comfortable with everything that you need. Andrew was really helpful and friendly.
The apartment is in a quiet, residential area, only a few minutes walk from the Castro, where there are a lot of bars, restaurants and cafes!

We highly recommend this place!!!
Thanks again for everything, Andrew!!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Gérard & Marius
Québec
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Los Angeles
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Johnpaul4...
London, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Simply the best rental for us period!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Large, spacious efficency unit that is beautifully furnished, perfectly located and containing all amenities! Large walk in closet, large state of the art kitchen, large bathroom and large main room with a very comfortable bed. Although located close to the Castro , it was quiet and there are excellent restaurants very close by - this visit we loved Curry Boyzz and Poeisa on 18th. Also, the Firewood provides very reasonable good food. Another surprisingly good place is the Dancing Pig on Castro that has the best chicken barbeque!
We will always try to rent this when we are in San Francisco!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Overall comfort and amenities!
Liked least: That we could not stay longer!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$145
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Andrew J
Speaks English
Listed since : Oct 2010
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing