We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we went back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's Steakhouse

Alexander's Steakhouse
448 Brannan St, San Francisco, CA 94107-1713
415-495-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alexander's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #108 of 5,005 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $45 - $75
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between 3rd & 4th
Transit: Caltrain, MUNI
San Anselmo, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So glad we went back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Alexander's Steakhouse in San Francisco is a pricey upscale place. But the value in terms of quality, service and taste is most definitely there
We went about a year ago and it seemed good but not great for the $$$. This time they hit it out of the park! We were three and sampled several appetizers (including two seafood ones...) We had three side dishes and three different steaks as well as the palette cleansers and sweet treats that were brought to us gratis.

We had wine and cocktails as well at the bar as well before dinner. EVERYTHING was handled perfectly!!! I feel that if a restaurant needs any tips to do things right head to Alexander's, we are really looking forward to returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    20
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A real fine dining experience if you are beef lover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

And I am, so it was a real treat. The restaurant is located is a typical industrial/commercial section of San Francisco, but we walked from our downtown hotel. The ambience is very welcoming and pleasant, with lotsof space and height. We were a party of five so we got semi-private corner table upstairs - lovely. The service is impeccable from the start. The waiter was attentive but not overbearing, with excellent explanations about the menu, cuts of meat, etc. The wine list is extensive, and we enjoyed some really fine California reds. We shared our eclectic appetizers, apportioned according to each diner's taste and desire. Everyone had meat, done exactly the way it was promised. The sides were also special as we were accommodated with a tasting variety instead of just one or two. We passed on a sweet dessert in favor of an exquisite sampling of cheeses. Just a great meal. This will be one of my pilgrimages the next time I visit San Francisco.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went here with friends to celebrate my buddy's promotion. Had a great meal with excellent service! The food was cooked perfectly and the waiter was very attentive.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food, Loved the Cotton Candy Dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Caught up with some friends for Dinner at Alexander's.

Was absolutely amazed by the quality, presentation and flavour of the food. Would definitely recommend this to others.

A word of warning - not a location for intimate dinners as the restaurant can get a little noisy during busy periods.

Will definitely be back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“This is food meeting art!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you are looking for a kobe beef experience or a steak experience then this is it. Loved the ambiance and setting here. Had some cocktails in the lounge and then upstairs in a room like a sushi restaurant. The service her is world class. Timing and presentation, attention to detail customer serice. Very impressive. The appetizer sushi shots and seared scallops were incredible. The steaks were all world class cuts. Personally my filet mignon was one of the best steaks I have ever had. Desert was a pleasant surpirse at the end too. So many artistic ideas and customer service makes this experience worth the money. Will come back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Alexander's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.