We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Walking Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Real S.F. Tour

The Real S.F. Tour
50 Drumm St., San Francisco, CA 94111 (Sunset)
+1 888-973-8687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 393 Activities in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Real SF Tour offers 4 incredible tours merging sightseeing and trekking with public transit for the most authentic visitor experience in San Francisco. Part urban adventure, part urban trek, and totally green, The Real SF Tours take you where no other tours can go. You’ll visit enchanted gardens, secret stairways, glorious rooftop views, and some of the city’s coolest neighbourhoods. You’ll be avoiding large crowds of tourists while experiencing the real culture of San Francisco and learning about its rich and storied history. You’ll traverse the city on Cable Cars, Light Rail, and City Buses. You must be able to walk 4 separate uphill 1.5 block sections, there are a total of 6 uphill flights of stairs, and 15 downhill flights of stairs, spread throughout the day. The day encompasses over 5 miles of walking including short uphill sections and hidden stairways that most people find extremely enjoyable. If you do not walk regularly this tour may be more challenging than enjoyable. If you have any difficulty going up and downstairs we do not recommend this tour. Please only wear comfortable closed toe walking shoes. Tours run daily departing from the California St Cable Car turnaround.
Southern Indiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Walking Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had a great time on the Real SF Tour. It was a little warmer than normal for the time of year, but I had planned ahead and brought two bottles of water. Sean was our tour guide and was very knowledgeable about the different parts of the city and quite patient when the group asked lots of questions. It was also nice meeting the other people on the tour who were from all around the world. If this is your first time in San Francsico I highly recommend taking this tour to get to know the different areas. Be prepared for plenty of walking and some of it uphill. Comfortable shoes are a must!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    28
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We just did this tour with Kevin on Friday and it was far better than we expected. You get to see so many places that you can't on a bus tour. Kevin was incredibly knowledgeable and engaging! We had a great group and had a lot of fun together. it didn't hurt that we had a picture-perfect day! I would highly recommend this tour unless you have knee issues. We covered over 7 miles of the city and saw almost 1/3 pf the city. I can't recommend this company enough - well worth the cost!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry Hall MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The previous "Excellent" reviews say it all. Sean did a superb job. As I told him at the end of the day, I generally am not a city person; I did this tour for my wife, and I expected the day to suck. It turned out to be a great day and we had lots of fun, partly because of the great city that SF is and partly due to the really great tour and tour guide. Probably the best tour I have ever taken anywhere. Thanks, Sean.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great introduction to a great city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I can't recommend this tour highly enough...provided you're reasonably healthy and enjoy walking. We completed a few tours in San Francisco, but this was the one that really stood out for the whole family. Chris, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable and seemed to have an interesting anecdote for every street corner. His enthusiasm for San Francisco was infectious and by the end of the day we all understood why...it's a fabulous city with a million hidden stories that you'll only discover on The Real San Francisco Tour!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A great way to explore San Francisco. Our tour guide Kevin was very knowledgeable, good company and obviously enjoyed his role through the energy and insight he demonstated as a tour guide. You get to see a variety of interesting places through San Francisco, some of which would take you longer than a day to navigate to and others which you very unlikely find without local knowledge and it was enjoyable to move around the city via a number of different types of transport. The small group size (there were 11 people in the tour i went on - i think 12 is the maximum) makes the tour seem quite personal which is a positive. Without a doubt easily one of the best day tours that i have been on and would recommend to anybody visiting the city

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Real S.F. Tour also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The Real S.F. Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Real S.F. Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.