We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sonoma Valley - Best Tour Guide Ever !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edge of the World Tours

Edge of the World Tours
1588-E Stillwell Road, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Pacific Heights)
+1 415-800-8147
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 394 Activities in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Specializing in Wine Country Tours. Edge of the World Tours = BIG FUN .. in small groups!
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sonoma Valley - Best Tour Guide Ever !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I purposely avoided the large buses and large winery tour in our to have a more personal experience with boutique wineries with a smaller group.Owner Don Donaldson pick-us up at our hotel on time at about 9ish and proceeded to take us on an excellent tour of three boutique wineries in Sonoma valley. The wine tastings were generous and informative and the views were breath taking. Charles at our first stop, the Jacuzzi winery was very knowledgeabla and personable, and we throroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our lunch stop in Sonoma was a lot of fun. On the way back, Don stopped in Sausalito which had nice views of the bay and San Francisco. Our final stop was high up on a ridge overlooking the Golden gate bridge where we took a group photo. We were dropped off to our hotel at 5ish after driving back across the Golden Gate bridge. Don and Edge of the World Tours certainly met our expectations and we had an excellent day. We look forward to our next trip to SF and excursion with Don. Thanks Don !!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Don was such a joy to tour with. We started out by taking a scenic drive to Sonoma. Then we hit our first winery - Jacuzzi Family Inery. You get 5 free fills of your cup, but I really don't think they were counting. There is a little tower there. Make sure you climb up to get beautiful pictures of their vineyard.

Our next stop was City Hall in Sonoma. We stopped here for lunch. We ate at the Cheese Shop. Our meal was 2 burgers, a Coca Cola, a Pepsi, and a pint of strawberries and blueberries for $28. Kind of expensive. Average burger. I'd recommend getting a sandwich and just eating in the park. Maybe even get a loaf of bread to feed the ducks. It's a really beautiful park.

Next up, Larson Vineyard. This place had cornhole, horseshoes, and views for miles. Here, we also got 5 free samples of wine. Yum!

Our last wine stop was Viansa Winery. This place had the best views by far. There was a small fee ($5) to try wines here. Hubby bought a brownie and I got a macaroon and we just watched the world go by until it was time to leave. This winery had the most expansive and scenic views.

Next up, we went to the little boat-town Sausalito. It is a beautiful, quaint village. We will probably take a ferry back from San Fransisco to get a little more time in. 30 minutes just wasn't enough to get to take it all in.

Our last stop was a true highlight. Don drove us allllllll the way up to Hawk Hill. We had the BEST views of the San Fransisco Bridge. Don took photos of all of us. It was truly a sight to behold. The entire city with the S.F. Bridge flanking it on the left and mountains on the right. Unbelievable views!

Throughout all of this, Don interjected his extensive knowledge of the area and was truly pleasant to tour with. He got everyone involved and we had great conversations.

The van was older, but roomy and everyone could have their own row.

Definitely check out this tour group if you are interested in getting a truly fascinating experience!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“True San Francisco Ambassadors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I expected a positive experience but it ended being a superb experience. The customer service received was above and beyond:

1. Use of technology - I confirmed my trip via text and received an immediate customized reply.
2. Don exited the van to welcome every guest by NAME
3. Involved everyone in the learning experience by utilizing indirect instruction techniques and engaging all of us in conversation.
4. Made an additional unplanned stop for us.
5. Took us to a place where we had the best view of the city.
6. Took pictures of our trip and all the guests and offered to email to our address
7. He Offered to answer any questions we had about San Francisco and reiterated that we could call or text if we needed anything.
8. Don Exited the van and provided a very friendly good bye.

Don was an awesome San Francisco ambassador and reflects outstanding customer service. I recommend this company for your trips!

Fanny and Angel

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't ask for a more personable and knowledgeable guide to show you around Sonoma and San Francisco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We can't say enough good things about Don. He was extremely personable, laid back, and made you feel right at home. He took us to some amazing wineries, with stops at some of the most scenic places on the way to/ from Sonoma! We come to San Francisco pretty often, and will definitely be booking another edge of world tour on our next trip.
Abby& Ian

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Yosemite Day Tour From San Francisco At Least 5 Hours in the Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Don is the owner of Edge of the World Tours and a native Californian. He clearly loves his job and goes out of his way to accommodate his guests. We only had time for a one day tour in Yosemite while visiting San Francisco-its a 4 hour drive each way and Don makes certain you have at least 5 hours in the park. Many other tour groups offer much less. He provides interesting commentary during the drive and is very helpful in answering any questions. His rates are very competitive and he was very punctual in picking us up at our hotel. He took us to several good photo stops before dropping us off at the Yosemite lodge. One park tip-the two hour valley tour by tram at Yosemite can quickly sell out ($25 USD per person) so plan accordingly if you want to have lunch while you are there (lines can be long at the park concessions). Many of the hikes require a longer time period in the park so we opted to hike by ourselves and use the free park shuttle bus. If you want to see waterfalls at full force go in the spring, not the fall.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edge of the World Tours also viewed

 

Been to Edge of the World Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edge of the World Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.