We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pizza and Atmosphere - slightly high priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Baonecci

Caffe Baonecci
516 Green Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)
415 989 1806
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Caffe Baonecci is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #163 of 5,081 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Grant Street
Description: Taste some of the most typical dishes from Lucca that you can only find in Italian houses. Our pizza has become extremely popular in the past five years for its uniqueness, with a style so diverse from other pizzas around the city that you simply must try it if you consider yourself a pizza connoisseur. If you are looking for an authentic culinary Italian experience, you found just the right place. Baonecci offers you delicious and traditional entrees from a Tuscan menu and thin-cracker, mouth-watering pizzas, each one hand rolled for you by Mamma Stefania. Baonecci offers handmade pastas made fresh everyday topped with Stefania's amazing sauces. Everything is made from scratch here. You'll be amazed by the freshness and quality of each plate and you'll be comforted by the friendly Gambaccini family who will make your experience even more "Italiana"!! We know... Our fare is not inexpensive, due to high quality ingredients used for each dish, plus for the love of an Italian woman that puts her heart in every dish that she cooks for you.. As we say in Italian " non si puo avere la botte piena e la moglie ubriaca" "you can't have both a full caraffe of wine and a drunken wife" Buon Appetito!
Siesta Key, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza and Atmosphere - slightly high priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I shared a salad and pizza. Both were excellent. The pizza was a thin crusted pizza with a crisp base - very tasty. It was small (more like a personal sized pizza - most people seemed to order one per person). With the salad, it was okay for the 2 of us to share, but certainly not too much. The price was a bit steep for its size - $19. But it was excellent. The place is small and is a very cozy and nice atmosphere. Overall, I rated it a 4 because of the food quality, atmosphere, and service and would have rated it a 5 if the prices were a bit lower.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    18
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little italian place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Small cozy place in North Beach. Great pizza and pasta. Everything homemade. Better than alot of the larger restaurants we tried in North Beach. Make reservations as the place fills up

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for thin crust pizza in the North Beach area and were directed to this restaurant. We had prosciutto and melon for an appetizer, then a great pizza Margherita. A small family run restaurant that filled up quickly. The service was very good too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simple and simply delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have to rate this place well because the food was so good and the service authentic. It is what it is... A family run restaurant. The family came from Italy 8 years ago. It really does feel intimate due to the family that is there- the decor was a bit bland - but made up for by the excellent real Italian food. The most delicious and authentic pizza I've had during my 6 weeks in the States. Delicious! They don't over-sauce, they use fresh ingredients that have taste within them. The service was good and---- real! Everyone helps out. No one being extra schmarmy and nice for extra big tips. They clearly just cared that you were happy. The wife/mother is the cook and she personally came out to greet the guests at one point and she personally shaved fresh Parmesan onto my son's pasta which was simple tomato base - and delicious. She was kind and cheerful - and very slim for someone who makes such a mean eggplant parmigiana. The menu is small and well executed (more variety in the pizzas than the pastas). This feels like eating at someones home in Italy. Friendly, simple and simply delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Food - Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Traveling with my 13 year old daughter, I wanted to show her a real italian restaurant in SF. I received a nice recommendation from a local and was thankful to get a table. It is a small restaurant that is not fancy and seemed to be filled with people who know how good the food is and keep coming back. Everything we ordered was excellent and I think they do a nice job of not 'over-doing' the meal, meaning it seemed to be perfect and simple combinations that made the meal great. I would think this is a great little restaurant for a date, a family meal, or for a few couples, but is not designed for a businessman who want to take ten people out for a business dinner.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Baonecci also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Baonecci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Baonecci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.