We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but in San Francisco you can get MUCH better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Toni

Sushi Toni
733 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402 (Union Square)
415-986-8664
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,166 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Neighborhood: Union Square
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Union Square
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not bad but in San Francisco you can get MUCH better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Went with a friend, looking for a quick sushi dinner near our hotel.
Definitely not a high end place with shabby but cool vibe. Lots of hip student types. Music was "interesting" somewhat muzak style and older stuff.
Sushi was only ok with the rice being much too congealed and the fish fresh enough but not flavour bursting. Appetizers were much better ( shumai, decent tempura and sakana salad).
Very nice and attentive staff.
Reasonably good prices but for the food in-line.
Nothing bad but will not be back as there are many much better places worth the extra distance (from our hotel).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    14
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Sushi place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went because it was close to our hotel. The place was busy and the service was very good.
My husband wanted to have Sushi while we were in town. He loved it. I had a noodle dish that was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good neighborhood sushi joint.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Good neighborhood sushi joint. Service was okay, Barry White was playing, the food came quickly and was all good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Get the Red Dragon Roll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We just happened upon this restaurant the first night of our vacation in San Francisco. We were pleasantly surprised. The ambience is a bit, well, different. But, we were there for the food and a nice quiet place to enjoy our first day in SF. The service was very good. They were attentive but did not hover. They gave us advice when we asked. We had a few of the sushi rolls and besides the Red Dragon Roll, they were just "good". The Red Dragon Roll was by far the best! In fact, I would go back there just to get that. The prices were very good at this restaurant. It's fairly close to the entrance to Chinatown.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good. Try it if nearby.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I always consult TripAdvisor before I walk into a restaurant, but took a chance with Sushi Toni. Had sushi combo C and a bottle of their advertised special sake. The plate was a bit unimaginative (5 out of 9 pieces were tuna, really?) and not sure worth the $15.50, but it was a good meal. Wouldn't walk out of my way to find this place, but it was convenient to my hotel and glad I stopped in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Toni also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Toni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Toni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.