We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fondue Cowboy

Fondue Cowboy
1052 Folsom St, San Francisco, CA 94103-4023 (SoMa)
415-431-5100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fondue Cowboy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #805 of 5,012 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Diner, Dessert, French, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Russ Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Great food! Wonderful portions and a variety of dipping items for the fondue. Would go again if I went back to the city. Could get a bit pricey with a large group. Location is a bit out of center city. Would take a cab.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poke and Dip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had a great time at Fondue Cowboy. Definitely has a neighborhood feel. It was fun watching the people from our table by the window. We enjoyed the fondue and the sausage plate also hit the spot. All was good!! Grapes dipped in fondue - my new favorite.Thank you for a fun time!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“And if you like cheese ~ you better try hard to get here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I happened to be wearing a poncho and cowboy boots which was perfect for the cowboy environment that I walked into ~ decor and food are top notch and no crowds! I was so delighted to find this place last night and I'm still full the next morning. Save room for the dark chocolate fondue at the end as it's a must-try as well. I will go back as often as I can.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Fondue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

I've always wanted to try a fondue restaurant and wasn't disappointed in Fondue Cowboy. The Outlaw was excellent. We paid $8 for the sausage plate but would probably not do it if we went again. The dessert fondue was wonderful.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, OR USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“There is one word to describe this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

There is one word to describe this place....sexy! If you are at all sophisticated (regardless of age) you will love this place. If you are taking a date, MAKE A RESERVATION. Otherwise you can sit at the bar like we did. Don't be afraid of the neighborhood. It seems sketchy, but as a family we walked and had no trouble. The wait staff was doting to say the least. You will feel pampered and fully attended to. The food was hot and fun! There were three of us and we shared a cheese fondue, cured meat plate, and finished with chocolate. There are no hard drinks, but with fondue you should be drinking wine or beer anyway. I suggest you try this place. We did on a whim and were so impressed.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fondue Cowboy also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Fondue Cowboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fondue Cowboy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.