We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing tour! Worth every penny :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Max Napa Tours

Max Napa Tours
118 Andover Street, San Francisco, CA 94110 (Telegraph Hill)
415 310-9598
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 394 Activities in San Francisco
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
Attraction details
London, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing tour! Worth every penny :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We booked this tour and this was worth every penny. Evan picked us up promptly at our hotel and we were well on our way to Napa. Evan was our guide for the day and he was exceptional. We went during the off season and we were the only two people in the car. Evan took care of us all day. He supplied us with water throughout the day, a cooler for our many wine purchases and shared his exceptional knowledge throughout the whole trip. Our wine preferences were asked prior to the trip and we picked one winery and he picked the rest. Evan did an amazing job taking us to wineries that suited our tastes and style. He educated us without coming across as condescending and never rushed us. The whole day was perfect. From start to finish. Evan felt like a friend for the day that we were lucky enough to know and convince to drive us to wineries specifically chosen for us:) This tour was the highlight of my San Francisco trip. I cannot say enough good things about this tour, Evan and Max Napa Tours. We felt like VIP all day. In contrast we took a different tour with a more commercial company for Sonoma Valley (unfortunately Max Napa was booked the day we wanted to go with them again). The difference was astonishing in every detail Max Napa tours was 1000 times better. The whole day I was thinking-I wish we could have done Max Napa again :) Max Napa tours is worth every penny.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing day, worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My friend and I booked a Napa Valley Tour with Max Napa Tours for our second day in SF. You will notice that this company is pricier than others, but after experiencing a day with them, it is not hard to see why. Evan picked us up on time outside of our hotel. We were more than thrilled to find out we would be the only two passengers for the day (off-season). We enjoyed a lovely ride to Napa while Evan shared with us some information about our surroundings and wine country. We started off at Baldacci where we participated in a small tour of the wine 'caves' that Evan had arranged. Next, we headed to Hall wineries (as per our personal request) and we weren't disappointed. The ability to select some of the wineries you visit with this company is a large reason why people should consider a Max Napa tour. We enjoyed lunch at a place Evan had made a reservation and then off to 3 other places. We even saw a bee on the bee at Honig (see picture).

The entire day was absolutely fun. Evan was kind and informative. He was always close enough to guide our experience, but also excused himself for pockets of time so we could enjoy our time at wineries as we wished. The ride home was jam packed with laughs as we all shared funny stories about life. If you are able, book all winery excursions with this company during your stay - if you're not able to - book this one last, b/c nothing will compare. We did a second tour to Sonoma a few days later, and it was a drag.

Spend the money, choose your own stops, buy wine, enjoy!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We booked this tour based on Tripadvisor Reviews and we were not disappointed. Evan picked us up promptly at our hotel. He had a lovely comfortable SUV. We found that we were the only ones booked on the tour, so we literally had a private tour. As it was our first day in San Francisco he gave us a mini tour so that we could get our bearings and then we were off to Napa.
We chose to visit Beringer Vineyard which was well worth a visit. Not only great wine but lovely architecture and gardens. The rest we left to Evan and he took us to 3 other small vineyards. Evan really knows his wine and the Napa Valley. He took us to a little italian restaurant in St Helena for lunch which was delicious. It was the best day we had in San Francisco and we will never forget it

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We took two tours with Max Napa Tours during our extended weekend vacation. The first trip was with Evan, who picked us up at the hotel, on time. We took our second trip, two days later, with Max who also was punctual. These guys do a great job making this a phenomenal memory. We talked to Max several months before our trip and discussed our wine preferences. We also had two wineries that we wanted to visit (one on each day). We let them choose the 3 other wineries each day, and I'm glad they did. They have over 400 wineries to choose from and they aren't "owned" by any of them. So, Max booked tasting with small but well-respected wineries that not everyone would recognize. They took care of all the details by booking tastings, making lunch reservations, providing waters for the ride, and even a cooler to store our purchased wines.

The Expeditions were immaculate, their driving was solid, and they have a vast depth and breadth of wine knowledge to answer any question you throw at them. They're easy to talk with because, although we were novices, they didn't come across as wine snobs. If you don't want to be herded by larger tours who are subsidized by the wineries they visit, this is the company for you. We went during the off season and were the only couple in the car. These guys never make you feel rushed or pressured. Great dispositions and Evan took a detour on the ride home to take us to a great spot to view the Gold Gate Bridge and take pictures.

This is the best way to see Napa or Sonoma if your objective is to appreciate the wineries, the people who own them, and their products. Don't miss out because these guys will hook you up with a memory of a lifetime.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I booked this tour based on it's excellent reviews. We both agree they are very well deserved! This tour was a fantastic way to see Napa Valley and not have to worry about driving (and wine tasting). Evan picked us up at our hotel, and we spent the day with another couple. We visited 4 different wineries, and had lunch at Solbar (we loved it). At the end of the day we had purchased 6 bottles of wine, and bought a box that made us able to easily check the wine as luggage at the airport. Evan was friendly, fun, knowledgeable and a very professional tour guide. We felt as though this tour allowed us to see wineries that we wouldn't have on a tour bus. Also the intimacy of a small group allowed for improvisation in our day's itinerary as needed. I would definitely take this tour again, and highly recommend it. My wife forgot her umbrella in the SUV and Evan dropped it off the next day at our hotel - Thanks again Evan!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max Napa Tours also viewed

 

Been to Max Napa Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max Napa Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.