We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast, short wait” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor Street Coffee Shop

Taylor Street Coffee Shop
375 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2004
415-567-4031
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 4,949 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Phone: 415-567-4031
2 reviews
“Excellent breakfast, short wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This coffee shop is fantastic. Small with a good vine. The food was excellent and tthe presentation was outstanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you Graeson. We're glad you made it in and enjoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    106
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Small size ~ Big experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

What do you do when you have ten feet of space between two large buildings? In San Francisco, you plant a tiny restaurant. Cooking area is in the front along a walkway so narrow that you have to slide by waiting customers sideways.
Very busy; but well worth the wait. Good quality food at reasonable prices. Wait time between ordering and being served is minimal. So, you don't mind not lingering over your meal so other customers can be seated.
Can be very satisfying if your expectations are not too high.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for coming in and for the nice review, CudBeWors. We're glad you enjoyed your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Don't bother with the millionaires bacon!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a tiny narrow cafe. The cooking area is by the door, you can see all the food prep as it is happening. Very clean and well ordered.i struggle with breakfast as I'm allergic to dairy and egg products. I spoke to the waitress and we tailor maid a breakfast sandwich for me. Bacon sausage and grilled veggies . It was delicious and well cooked and presented. My husband had a full breakfast. We paid extra for millionaires bacon. It was tough a leather , sickly sweet and a huge disappointment . The rest of the meal was very good.we had to wait about 10 min for a table which was not a problem , but as we left the line was out of the door. If you don't want a huge wait , go early!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hi Jane,

We're glad you liked your breakfast and happy we could accommodate your dietary restrictions. Sorry you didn't enjoy the Millionaire's Bacon but it sounds like you left satisfied. Thanks for coming in an we hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Essence of San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This coffee shop is the essence of the San Francisco food scene. Small outlets serving great food at great prices.

Very near to Union Square, the entrance is quite narrow and could be clogged by those doing coffee take outs.

The food is fresh and tasty. I had toast with eggs and bacon and fruit and it was good. Very good. Everything on the menu is good. Come for the food, not for the ambience. Service is adequate, not 5 star, but that's not why you are there

A great neighborhood breakfast place I would gladly return to

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Biz Traveler,

We completely agree. San Francisco certainly is a food town and so many little joints do food well. Thank you for visiting us and for the nice review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The most faboulous breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

5 people serving 10 tables. Everything is fresh! Good service! We went here every morning! No bether choice for breakfast anywhere!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
All the way from Norway! Thank you fhjelle! We're glad you tried us and appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Taylor Street Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Taylor Street Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor Street Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.