We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORTH THE WAIT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frances

Frances
3870 17th St, San Francisco, CA 94114-2030 (Mission)
415-621-3870
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Frances is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Mission
Cross street: between Noe and Sanchez
Transit: 24, 33, 35, 37, F, K, M, and L
Description: very popular new American in SF
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“WORTH THE WAIT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have been hearing about Frances for the last couple of years but every time I tried to make a reservation Samanthas words were friendly but always the same... "we are booked but I will put you on the waiting list'
I finally decided to take my chances and show up for the walk in counter seating..
Thank Goodness I finally did. Patrick the Host was so accomodating, welcoming, friendly and professional.
We were a party of four on the final night of the World Series and the restaurant was packed. We were seated within 15 minutes.
From the first glass of Cava to the final bite of Lumberjack Cake....... OMG delicious.
What a beautiful menu. The presentation of the Fennel and Celery soup was as beautiful as was scrumptios... Red Snapper... melt in your mouth.... Bean Cassoulet delectable!
All topped off with extrodinary service from Costa and Mohammed.... Effkaristo Costa! Can't wait to come back. Hopefully to meet the extraordinary chef!
Sandie
Concierge
CHS

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    24
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food and service - I'd recommend it to a friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I thought the food was good and the service was good too. Not much to complain about here. We started with the grilled calamari which I thought was fresh and tasty. I had the steak which was cooked just right and really enjoyed the eggplant puree. I can't remember what my friend had but he also enjoyed the meal. They are also helpful when it comes to picking out wine (which be prepared to spend a little extra money on the wine if you choose to get a bottle). I thought all the bottles were a bit expensive however they will let you taste it first (and a few tastings) if they have it by the glass. I don't think I could afford to come here often but it was an fun place to visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Amazing food, service and wine. I absolutely thought this was a fabulous little gem tucked into a very nondescript place. One might think since it's "higher end" it would be stuck up but we had perfectly wonderful service. We were never rushed and our food was cooked perfectly. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cozy neighborhood restaurant with a creative and talented chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife had read a complimentary article about Frances in a food magazine and it lived up to our expectations. I could almost consider becoming a vegetarian if I could eat meatless meals as good as the vegetable cassoulet. I tasted my wife's chicken dish and it too was excellent. The house wines, both red and white were very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Can't say enough (good) about this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Service, food amazing. Worth going out of your way for. Probably on of the best restaurants I have eaten at. Reservations needed which we didn't have so we ate at the bar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frances also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Frances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frances, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.