We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, nice, clean amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Loma Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Loma Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Loma Hotel
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   610 Fillmore Street, San Francisco, CA 94117 (Hayes Valley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Location, nice, clean amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Checked in here after a long day's driving from LA. First things first-parking is a nightmare. Get in early to get a park, is all I can say. Somehow we miraculously got one 2 blocks from the hotel.

First impressions-very nice. But don't expect a "hotel" per se for hostel prices. If you expect a hostel, you will be impressed. If you expect a hotel, you will be underwhelmed. We were expecting the former. Room was about the size you would expect for a standard private hostel room for 2. Only problem was that it was boiling hot-so we opened the window. Unfortunately it was incredibly loud. This basically meant that you couldn't really sleep past about 6am.

Shared amenities aren't as bad as they sound because they are really clean. Sinks in own rooms are a godsend-don't have to brush teeth in shared sinks. Overall, good place, but would try and get a non-street facing room if you want a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: Non-street facing rooms if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    80
    55
    22
    19
See reviews for
8
116
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed here a 2nd time after having stayed in 2010 for 5 days. We were here for 6 nights this time as part of a 10 night trip. The location is amazing, although a bit far from the typical touristy stuff. The rooms are bright and clean although they don't make the bed or change the linens for you. I noticed the rates increased slightly since last year which I suppose is due to it's popularity. I have a few minor complaints, our room this time was a standard room and faced into an inner quad (not accessible to anyone just a small rock garden) which was quite noisy late at night and early in the morning due to fellow patrons. Despite the noise of fellow patrons this was minor, you don't get 'scary' street noise from homeless and drunk people you might get near the Civic Centre. I felt extremely safe and secure here and walking around the Fillmore, Alamo Heights, Lower Haight neighborhoods it's nestled in. My other complaint is the beds in the standard rooms are Double, they should really upgrade them all the Queen at least and I also found the beds to be really soft, I almost felt like my head was sinking below my feet. Wi Fi costs extra, you can pay for it, but it's kind of expensive. There was also rarely someone sitting at the front desk and while friendly you sort of felt like asking them for anything was an inconvenience to them. We would stay here again, the washroom/shower situation was not an issue as they were always well maintained and rarely occupied. Also the standard rooms did not have a fridge, this would have been greatly appreciated even just a small bar fridge to keep drinks would have been nice.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money to get a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Well, well, well: it was my husband and dad who couldn't stop laughing when they saw the place. Dragging the luggage upstairs is quite a task and forget about spacious sleeping. The rooms are tiny and so our the double beds as well (and quite hard to sleep on). Parking can be challenging but we managed to find a parking spot on the street (be sure to check what days that street is cleaned). There aren't a lot of services right next to the hotel but they are within walking distance though. The area isn't that interesting (or nice) but transportation is convenient (would've been further too I suppose...) The bathrooms and showers are clean so no complaints there. Next time I will definitely stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here for a week las August. The location was great, right next to a bus stop.
Our room was basic but clean. It was quite noisy, but we were totally jetlagged anyway. The first days we woke up at 3 in the morning to watch Food Channel :)
The people at the front desk were ok, but they would only come in around 10 in the morning.
Our only complaint is that they could have at least changed our sheets once, along with clean towels, since we stayed for a week.
Overall, it was good value. The accomodation is basic, but we prefered to spend the money we saved on our hotel in restaurants.

We usually got some snacks and drinks from' Tim's Corner', just next to the bus stop.
Oh, and there's a great place for breakfast around 2 blocks down called Kate's Kitchen!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed at The Casa Loma Hotel in San Francisco for 9 nights, we had 2 rooms one for me and my husband and one for my Mother-in-law. Rooms were next door to each other and right by the toilet and showers. Our room was a Double deluxe which was spacious with large bed, TV, sink, Chest of drawers, Small hanging space, small table and chair and a fridge. The other room was a double standard and was similar but without the table and chair and smaller.
The hotel was excellent value for money, clean rooms, comfy bed, modern shower and toilet facilities. I would really recommend this hotel if you are planning a holiday on a budget. The location was perfect for us, it is slightly out of town so much quieter but on 2 Muni bus routes (one running North to South and the other East to west) so really easy to get around. There is a small landry room on the ground floor with washers, dryers, some vending machines for sweets, biscuits drinks etc and a microwave. There is a small cafe near by which sell bagels, sandwishes etc and a shop selling drinks, food, licor etc. I didn't think the hotel was noisy but the walls are thin, can't say I was disturbed at all.

Room Tip: When you book ask for a quieter room, they will try to put you round the back which is quiet from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel/hostel is in a good location, walking distance from Alamo Square and the 22 bus line. Rooms include a television, vanity sink, mini fridge, towels, and the other usual things. Bathrooms and showers are shared, there are two bathrooms and two showers on each floor. They are kept clean and while there on a weekend I only had to wait once to use a shower, but it was a very minimal wait (like 3mins). There is no daily housekeeping, but it was not a problem for us since we were only there for the weekend. The staff is very helpful with directions and suggestions of places to see. The fire alarm went off Friday and Saturday night, but this did not affect us since we were out and about at the time.

Room Tip: There are no elevators in this building, so to avoid walking up flights of stairs and dragging your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

It's definitely very cheap for a nice place to stay in San Francisco. We had a shared bathroom, everything was very clean and the interior of the hotel is nice and modern. You don't get daily housekeeping which wasn't a problem for us but if that's what you want, don't stay here and then complain. It's not far a walk from the MUNI stop, to help you get round the city, but there is a bit of a sketchy area if you walk North of McAllister, and before you get to the main shop/restaurant area on Filmore Street. The guy on the front desk when we were there was very friendly and helpful. Parking is a bit of a pain but we always managed to find somewhere within a block of the hotel without too much trouble (and don't forget to curb your wheels).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Loma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Loma Hotel

Address: 610 Fillmore Street, San Francisco, CA 94117
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Loma Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa Loma Hotel offers beautifully furnished rooms in a modern setting right in the heart of the City. We're within walking distance to Alamo Square, Hayes Valley, Haight, Golden Gate Park, Japantown, the Mission, and the Castro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Loma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Loma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.