We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gyro at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gyro King

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gyro King
25 Grove St, San Francisco, CA 94102-4702 (Civic Center)
415-621-8313
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,372 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Neighborhood: Civic Center
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Civic Center
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Gyro at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

loved the Gyro King...missing it already! Ate there twice!!! Excellent choice for down to earth foods at its best. The food was excellent...real Gyro's!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loenen aan de Vecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

just across from Market Street, behind the Burger King. Quiet, friendly staff, good price and nice turkish food

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“I like Gyros”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I like Gyros, and even though I was traveling on expenses, and could have spent a lot more, I went here twice in my week in SF. Sometimes you just want something quick and tasty, and did I mention that I like Gyros? Had to ask for hot sauce; guess they assume bland taste. Cafeteria style, very nice baklava (two different styles, plus a bunch of other diet-conscious desserts. Other entrees looked really good, but i had already put on 10 pounds the previous two weeks, and was in no position to eat more (diet baklava notwithstanding). Portions at other tables looked ample, and the salads looked fresh and tasty, but I already had my dietetic baklava. And besides, I like Gyros.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Bargain Home-style Food Close to Civic Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Self-service restaurant with a range of Turkish food. I had never tried borek - a baked, filled pastry. The feta cheese version was scrumptious! Borek comes with a side salad and might be a large enough lunch serving for many people. Portions were fairly large. This location is close to the BART station.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“High Hopes . . . Dashed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I love gyros and other Mediterranean food, but this place does not come up to a decent standard. If there were any cucumbers in the Tzatziki sauce they were just passed over the mixing bowl. The gyros meat had very little lamb in it and was dry, not just over-cooked, but dried out from being exposed to the air too long. The Hispanic man behind the counter was the only one in the restaurant who was friendly and gracious. The others made you feel as if they were doing you a favor by taking your money and providing you with sub-standard food. The food was edible if not tasty.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gyro King also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Gyro King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gyro King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.