We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old opera house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of War Memorial Opera House

War Memorial Opera House
301 Van Ness Avenue at Grove Street, San Francisco, CA (Civic Center)
415 864 3330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 317 Attractions in San Francisco
Type: Architectural Buildings, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful beaux arts structure is home to the San Francisco Opera.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful old opera house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a lovely old (1920s) opera house. The SF Opera is world-class, with not only good singers, but a wonderful orchestra. All sorts of opera is presented, including Mozart's masterpiece Cose fan Tutte which has a brilliant score. The Green Room in the adjacent Veteran's Memorial indeed would have terrible acoustics if music were performed there, but fortunately it's used only for receptions.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    7
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Poor acoustics in the Green Room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I wish I could check out the grand theater. But instead we had a banquet gala in their dining hall (aka the Green Room). The balcony has a very nice view of the City Hall across the street, but the rest of the hall appears rather old and tired. Their food was bland and mediocre at best. The worst part was their lack of proper sound acoustics - we could not hear a thing at all from the performers / speakers on the center stage, and we were not even sitting that far away from the stage. The evening was a huge disappointment and they seriously need to fix their audio equipment.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Live Opera is hard to beat in SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is our third trip to San Francisco and the War Memorial for opera. Easily accessibly by BART's Civic Center Station (with a 20 minute walk) this is a beautiful venue for opera. As out-of- towners, we're relegated to the "nose bleed" seats, which gives a distant view of the stage. If going and seated in balcony, ask for seats far enough back

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Built for munchkins! It will kill your back and knees.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Judy and i saw Mozart's "Cosi Fan Tuti", a comparatively little-performed opera about two soldiers, their girl friends, deception and swapped identities. The acting was fine, and the staging was attractive, but the musical score lacks even a single melody that's memorable or listenable (Mozart must have had his learner's permit at the time).

Worse still, there's so little space between seat rows that any normal-sized adult will be dreadfully uncomfortable within half an hour. Oh my aching back and knees!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nutcracker Faithfuls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We go every Christmas to enjoy the Nutcracker--a traditional for the last 38 years! We have been to other Nutcrackers, even in other countries; we have been in many other venues (including the year of the earthquake, when the SF Nutcracker was temporarily relocated); nothing compares to the beauty and comfort of the War Memorial Opera House.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed War Memorial Opera House also viewed

 

Been to War Memorial Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage War Memorial Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.