We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great view, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Top of the Mark

Top of the Mark
999 California St. at Mason St., Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA (Nob Hill)
415-392-3434
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 277 nightlife in San Francisco
Type: Bar/ Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Sip drinks to piano music while taking in a panoramic city view at this lofty and elegant Nob Hill hotel bar.
Timbuktu, Mali
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great view, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

True, the view lives up to its reputation, and watching the sun set over San Francisco is surprisingly beautiful (on a clear day), but the ambience doesn't quite live up to the vista outside your window. The cocktails are well made, and plentiful, but the decor didn't quite have the class of the Marriott sky bar, which offered better views and a marginally better (but delayed) cocktail.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    27
    10
    5
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The best view of the city and bay from the golden Gate to the Bay Bridge. We recommend getting there before 4 PM to get a great window seat. Try the "light fare" menue. It's a meal in itself. Try to stay past sunset to experience the sunset along with the city coming "alive" at night.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico beach
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“rude rude rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We went there with the intention of everyone else to have a nice view and a great martini. We rode up the elevator with another group of people and the elevator operator told us we would have to pay a cover charge but we could sit at the bar. The other group said that was fine that they had not made reservations and was wondering if there were seats. It was a Thursday night and not much going on. When we entered we felt we walked into the "Gatsby's" ballroom. There were only 6 tables with dinners so we were sure we could get a seat. There was no hostess at the entrance but we saw the bar out of the corner of our eye so we walked over there to have a drink. The bartender just stared at us and said nothing. Then a rude hostess came over and said we had to leave the bar. We asked why and she said the entire bar was reserved and so were the other 20 tables but if we went back to the front she would see what she could do. The other group of 3 men who were on the elevator with us were seated at a table next to the bar and they had no reservations. We waited a few minutes and the hostess acted like we weren't even there. When we asked about a table she still ignored us. Finally we just turned around and got on the elevator and left. I refuse to give my money to someone who is rude and condescending. I am glad that others were not treated as badly! I think they profile their clientele and that night it seemed to be a mens only night.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Daytime views of San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I went with my mother who had not been there since her honeymoon over 60 years ago! We were warmly greeted and shown the best view table possible. We just had some beverages and the wait staff were very gracious and friendly. My mother and I were thrilled with the whole experience and the views are dynamite!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Timing is Everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

As a native, I know this is hands down the best panoramic view of San Francisco, but also know its not the best place for dinner or service. My husband and I took advantage of the crystal clear weather during our recent stay in The City and just hit Top of The Mark around 2:30 in the afternoon for drinks. No lunch rush, no expectations other than a drink and time to soak in the stunning views. Worth every moment.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Mark also viewed

 

Been to Top of the Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top of the Mark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Top of the Mark to your Saves list