We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost some of its appeal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Redwood Room

Redwood Room
495 Geary Blvd. at Taylor St., San Francisco, CA
415-775-4700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 283 Nightlife in San Francisco
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This sumptuous room displays touches and a large bar constructed out of a single redwood tree.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lost some of its appeal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The decor has always been beautiful, and the motion portraits are always fun, but the quality of the cocktails and the overall scene can get tired. Seems like a spot for older gents to ogle and try to chat up a younger crowd, not fun to watch. Now, slip behind the curtain to Asia de Cuba for a Great meal and all will be good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cool looking place but horrible drinks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I came here, ordered 2 different cocktails. Sat on a stool and put our drinks down on an uneven short table. The place was packed, everyone looked trendy and the room was indeed very red. The decor was very grand, but quirky, There were giant 'moving' portraits up on the wall, very 'harry potter' effect I thought. All this was very nice. The music was more lounge, the same beats over and over, not too loud so people can have a conversation but not subtle enough either that you still notice the same beats half hour later.

The drinks... were terrible. I've never paid for such expensive dishwater-tasting liquid presented to me in such a fancy looking place ever! Because I paid dearly for this god-awful beverage, I felt the need to push through the foul taste just in case I may get used to it, but I didn't. Lesson learnt.

I will recommend this place if you have reliable bottled beer or wine, but definitely stay away from the cocktails.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere to see and be seen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Lovely wait staff and very nice ambiance. Has a bit of an old school grand feel. Great for making an impression for business. Guys read more reviews before deciding to bring a date. It is part of a hotel and the atmosphere felt very much like a place that to seen and be seen.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice decor and atmosphere but very small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice bar, no entrance change which was good and nice decor, but very busy, nowhere to sit and kind of thought that the people having table service around the edge were looking a bit down on us tourist types in the middle. One of the nicer bars we went to in SF but only for one drink - not a night spot. And also not a patch on some of the bars in London and I wouldn't call it upper class at all, it verges on pretentious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great venue when I am in town , read some of the reviews and can't say I found it any more pretence then any other chic bars in San Fran

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redwood Room also viewed

 

Been to Redwood Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redwood Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.