We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Shopping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Japantown

Japantown
Post and Buchanan Streets, San Francisco, CA (Japantown)
415-922-6776
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Japantown like an insider
Top Rated
$92*
and up
San Francisco Food Tour: A Taste of Japantown
Ranked #138 of 722 things to do in San Francisco
Activities: Shopping, Dining, Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small neighborhood with Japanese restaurants, shops and other attractions.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

For shopping, we found some of the best stores here and the prices were great. There is a huge Hello kitty Store we spent quite a bit of time in purchasing gifts and if your children are into anime' you will find all you need. There seemed to be something for everyone on your list in Japan Town.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    77
    48
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Japan town is a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited Japan town and stopped in the Kabuki hotel.
Very interesting place with japanise cultural aspects. We loved the hotel and loved the Japan centre(mall). Tasty food, very good quality and very reasonable prices.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good for Japan addicted tennagers and to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

25 min walk from our hotel on Geary/Shannon past some real parts of the city. Loads of Japanese/Korean eateries at prices well below those closer to Union Sq. The shopping Mall was full of what are probably pretty normal Japanse shops but with two girls who can still remember hello Kitty and remain a little obsessed with Totoro it was blast for them. Also very relaxed and un-pressurised so if your head's looking to get away from the crowds, spend 3 - 4 hours here, eat some food, have a drink and relax. Definitely worth a half day if you want a different and more interesting shopping experience to the "didn't I see that in London/Manchester/Paris/wherever?" one you get everywhere else you go in the west.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You could check it out, after other locations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was very excited to visit Japantown and I was disappointed. I expected to be transported to Japan and to find amazing sushi on every corner. These expectations were not met. Things to check out: Daiso Japan store at one of the malls by the pagoda, they have some amazing deals, everything is $1.50 and quality isn't bad. If you can wait for the good sushi places to open (some are open only for dinner for 3 hours), then definitely go there. I'd recommend going there after you visit other locations, like the Golden Gate Park, which is phenomenal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“If you love sushi, eat here in SF”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

As an avid sushi eater, I really wanted good sushi while visiting SF - and found this in Japantown's neighborhood. You'll have many restaurants to choose from and the Peace Center is quite a sight. Lots of street parking if you decide to drive rather than walk the steep hills of the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japantown also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Japantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japantown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.