We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art,pastries and organ music = perfect afternoon.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legion of Honor

Legion of Honor
34th Avenue & Clement Street, Lincoln Park, San Francisco, CA 94121
415.750.3600
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Legion of Honor like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$10*
and up
Ranked #11 of 719 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An outstanding collection of European art in a gorgeous hilltop museum setting.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Art,pastries and organ music = perfect afternoon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is one of our favorite museums to visit on the weekend. Stroll through the galleries, enjoy coffee and pastries in the lovely café, then listen to the Skinner Organ concert at 4:00pm...perfect!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    243
    42
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chaska, MN
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Art at it's finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

As one walks in Rodan's"The Thinker." Lots of Rodans inside. Some R rated, my favorites. I can't even start to tell you about the other treasures inside. It also has my favorite gift shop anywhere. One million thumbs up.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent several hours here and should have stayed longer but we were tired after visiting the De Young Museum first. There are some great impressionist pieces, marvelous sculptures and my husband's favorite -a Rembrandt. The museum building itself is a work of art and the location at the top of a hill provides great views of the city and beyond.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Be sure and find the Vertigo room...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had never been here before as it had always been closed - well worth the wait - gorgeous setting with fabulous art. Ask for the brochure on Vertigo. Easy to take the bus - don't be put off by it's seemingly far-off location.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muar, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best art museum in SF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Legion is in my opinion the best art museum in San Francisco. It is located far from downtown, high above the ocean, with a view of the Golden Gate. This is where the best collection of classical European paintings can be found in SF. The permanent collection is beautifully exhibited in the upper story of a U shaped building, while the lower story of the building is mostly for special exhibit. It takes a few hours to visit the place. I should add that the classical building architecture, at least the exterior, is a copy of the original in Paris. But here, it is situated in splendid isolation at a high bluff in a far corner of San Francisco, lending it a very romantic feel.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legion of Honor also viewed

 

Been to Legion of Honor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legion of Honor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.