We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rodin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legion of Honor

Legion of Honor
34th Avenue & Clement Street, Lincoln Park, San Francisco, CA 94121
415.750.3600
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Legion of Honor like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$10*
and up
Ranked #11 of 719 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An outstanding collection of European art in a gorgeous hilltop museum setting.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rodin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This musem has a large number of Rodin pieces, from preliminary designs to full castings. Very nice exhibits.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    661
    244
    42
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“visit this Art Museum first while SFmoma is closed until 2016”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you like Rodin, you will love this Museum. I was pleasantly surprised at the collection of Rodin, with a smattering of Monet, Dali, Picasso, and other great Masters at this midsize museum in SF. We were also lucky to hear an Organ concert which you can hear throughout most of the 2 level museum in the Presidio. outside, you can see a great view of the bridge. after 4pm, I think is free admission. outside we saw a wedding group taking photos. we only had time to see the deYoung and the Asian Art museum on this trip since SFmoma was closed for renovations. We took the bus there and then ate dinner at NOPA afterwards which really made it a perfect day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful building, great views, good cafe, super exhibits, beautiful place to start a hike to Cliff House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We just saw the special exhibit there, Impressionists on the Water, and it was just wonderful. Many paintings beautifully exhibited. And the building is so nice since the multimillion renovation quite a few years ago. today was a nice clear day and we loved the view from there. The café is a must. Good food and a really nice patio sculpture garden in which to eat. While you are there, take the hike along the cliff and by the remnants of Sutro Baths and on to the Cliff House. Great place for locals like us and tourists alike! If you are a KQED member, ask for the discount.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Visiting as a handicapped access person.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Legion of Honor is my favorite museum of the world and I have been to most of the big ones, in the states and Europe. It is beautiful to look at, the scenery around it is gorgeous and the gallery's are big enough that you can step back to look at something but small enough you feel intimate with the art. This time I was on a scooter chair and my battery died. The staff was so helpful, they got me a wheelchair to get around in and found an outlet to let me charge the chair. Everyone was so helpful, the dining room staff took special care of me. It is odd to view art from a setting down position not eye level, and I really didn't like that but I couldn't have got around without the chair so you learn to adapt.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This museum is located on the coast overlooking the Pacific Ocean and the Golden Gate Bridge. It is just beautiful, cannot be appreciated without a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legion of Honor also viewed

 

Been to Legion of Honor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legion of Honor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.