We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go here just to see the painted ladies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Square

Alamo Square
Fulton St. at Steiner St., Western Addition, San Francisco, CA
Improve this listing
Visit Alamo Square like an insider
Special Offer
$96*
and up
San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir...
Ranked #65 of 722 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known around the world for its Victorian rowhouses, this spectacular hilltop park is an ideal spot for picture taking.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not go here just to see the painted ladies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I expected a lot from the painted ladies, considering that in other parts of the city there are many other beautiful victorian houses. I guess the view of the city behind these houses is what it makes them different. I will recommend to go here and bring a picnic or something to read, it is a wonderful spot to relax.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    198
    63
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place to relax and enjoy the view!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I came here for the first time because I used to watch Full House when I was a kid and the opening credits took place in Alamo Square! The Victorian houses are amazing and the view is so beautiful! When the weather is nice, it's pleasant to do a picnic there. This is what I did today, it was amazing! Just bring a book with you and relax!!! :-)

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumphon Province, Thailand
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A SMALL SURPRISE IN THE MODERN CITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Alamo Square is famous for its 'painted ladies' on Steiner Street facing the park. This row of beautifully restored Victorian houses are amongst the most expensive properties in San Francisco and are often seen in movies.

They make a pleasant contract to the more brash oplulents of the City's Pacific Heights real estate where most of the rich live. The area attracts thousands of visitors each year all pointing their cameras at the houses, so there is a downside to living in such an exclusive row of real estate.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“I enjoyed this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Very cool and different! Grab a lunch, sit on the lawn, and enjoy the view! We came on the day of Bay to Breakers so it was packed and it was an insane scene. But we thoroughly enjoyed it. I would def spend some time here to enjoy the Painted Ladies and the city view,

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“"Haaaaave Merrrrcy"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Oh Uncle Jesse, I wouldn't have blamed you for saying that every time you came home and saw all the tourists taking photos of your house.
I stop at Alamo Square because my niece is watching "Full House" in syndication and it was her request. While it is just a park located in the middle of a city block, the houses around it are quite pretty especially with the city in the background. It's very pretty and there are lot of tourists at all times of the day taking photos.
If you have the time, check it out. It was cute but I wasn't that impressed but what can I say? I'm a jaded NYer.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Square also viewed

 

Been to Alamo Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.