We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gorgeous 2 Bedroom Victorian Flat in Dolores Park

Kitchen Range
Kitchen Range
Kitchen Range
Gingerbread Detail Victorian Exterior
Victorian Facade Detail
San Francisco
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
lisalikes...
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Rental in the Mission - Impeccably Clean, Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
3
people found this review helpful

I recently stayed at Navin's Dolores Park Victorian in the lower studio. As if the great location (steps from Dolores Park and Bi-Rite Market and TARTINE for the best pastries of your life) wasn't enough, you feel as though you are staying in your very own apartment that is as clean (if not cleaner) than any hotel. The kitchen is fully equipped...if you stay here, definitely take advantage of the six-burner stove, and there's even a wine cooler.

Navin was speedy in response and made for an easy rental. Next time I'm in San Francisco, I'll definitely be trying to stay here.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, laundry, kitchen
Liked least: Door to studio didn't lock (only door to building locked)
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
BSWat
Gwent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
6
people found this review helpful

Just returned from 10 nights staying in this amazing house. We rented the upper apartment and so pleased when we got the front of the property. It really is beautiful, gorgeous kitchen, two lovely bathrooms (noisy Victorian plumbing though), stunning living room and dining room. The whole apartment was well equipped with everything you could possibly need for your stay in SF. The apartment was spotlessly clean and well maintained. There were ample towels and bed linen and a superb washing machine and dryer. The bed is probably the best bed I've ever slept in. Great transport links too. The Muni stop is just on the corner and a train arrives every 7 minutes! I wouldn't hesitate staying here again and was worth every dollar. The smaller apartment downstairs looks as good when I peeped through the window. There are a lot of steps up to the front door but the climb was worth it. Well done Navin, we loved your house!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2011
Hi Beth,

Thank you for such a nice review. I'm glad to hear you had a wonderful experience and hope to have you return as a guest again in the future.

Cheers,
Navin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DavidzLi
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Gracious owner, excellent location, beautiful house, and boutique level comfort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
16
people found this review helpful

I usually stay with either Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton for my trip to San Fran. However this time since I'm travelling with my fiancé for a longer period (5 days), I opted to try out vacation rental, mainly because of the availability of laundry and kitchen. But what I got was so much more. For people that don't like to go through long reviews, my title has summed it up. And for people who like details, I'll elaborate in the following paragraphs.

1) Navin was absolutely a very gracious owner, perfect embodiment of San Franciscan's legendary friendliness. From the first contact to our check-in, he was responsive, courteous and very efficient. Our flight was delayed due to fog in San Fran airport, as I updated him through emails. He never once expressed any frustration or annoyance. We finally got in around 3am in the morning and he actually emailed us the combo code for the lock box so we can settle in first.

2) The location was another plus, it is located in the heart of the Castro district and right next to the Dolores park. For those who are into tennis bring your rackets, there are two courts in the park. And one of the Michelin starred restaurants, "Frances" is within walking distance. We tried 5 Michelin restaurants in town (including the 3-star French Laundry), Frances turned out to be the best overall in our opinion, try to book ahead though unless you don't mind eating pass 10pm like we did.

3) Now everyone knows that San Fran's public transit is unparalleled in the States, maybe even in the world. And the MUNI J line stop on 18th and Church is practically next to the house (right next to the park). Just get a week MUNI pass (it does not work for BART though) and you are golden. J goes directly to the downtown through the underground MUNI metro where BART (so if you are travelling light you can actually take BART from SFO to Embarcadero station and transfer to MUNI J) and all the other lines are stationed together underground.

4)The Victorian house itself is stunningly decorated with all the period features newly restored: original wood work, tainted glass panel, crystal door knobs, brand new claw-foot bathtub and carpet free etc. And Navin had weaved in modern design elements to make the whole place beautifully Victorian with the modern airiness. None of these you'd get from Four seasons or Ritz, and you'll pay a fraction of what those chain would charge you.

5) When I saw the house have on-suite laundry, I was thinking some old used white appliances. I was needless to say pleasantly surprised with LG washer and dryer, KItchenart French-door fridge and dishwasher, to top all off, imported Italien range hood and matching 6-element stove). I've stayed in up-scale apartment hotels before, never had I seen these kind of luxury appliance line-up.

6) The only downsize with this house is, there is no parking spot. However I would urge anyone who are thinking of visiting San Fran, take advantage of the public transit. It's clean, efficient and VERY cost effective. Should you have need to rent a car, there is city parking lot nearby I believe.

I will definitely go back to this place for my future trips to San Fran. And I would strongly recommend this place to anyone who are thinking of visiting this beautiful city.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Biloute1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Situation près du parc Castro. Cosy et propre. A recommander”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
Google Translation

Plancher superbe. Bonnes descriptions des chambres. Douche et bain. Tout pour cuisiner. Contact aisė avec les propriétaires. Got it!!!

Traveling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$250
/ Night
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
Navin A
14152440355
Speaks English, Spanish, Italian
Listed since : Jun 2013
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing