We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome value for very nice food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burmese Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Burmese Kitchen
452 Larkin St, San Francisco, CA
(415) 474-5569
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,111 of 5,012 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Burmese, Delicatessen
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome value for very nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice little family-run restaurant, great for exploring new tastes in the Indian/thai-ish cuisine at an impressing value (most dishes are well under 10 dollars)
Greatly recommended! Reaaaly tasty

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The service isn't the best, but the food is soooooo delicious!!! You should try the Tea Leaf Salad and Fish with Tamarind Sauce! It's perfect!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great and Unique Food at a Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Whenever I go to the Asian Art Museum, Burmese Kitchen is a must for lunch. Everything I've tried is delicious. I especially liked the Pumpkin Stew and the Burmese Falafel--they are quite crunchy, but very good. Give it a try the next time you are in the neighborhood. The lunch combos are a great place to start.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A local's fave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

If I were to describe Burmese food to the uninitiated, I would say it's a melding of Indian and Thai food—its cuisine utilizes many of the same ingredients you'd find in Thai cuisine, with the added bonus of masalas and curries.

My dining companion and I wanted to try the tea leaf salad to see how it measured up to Burma Superstar, the end-all be-all of Burmese food in SF. But we were intrigued by the tamarind leaf salad and decided to order it instead. While we were expecting a certain characteristic tanginess associated with tamarind, the predominant flavors were sesame and dried shrimp, both of which lent a delightful chewy texture to the overall dish. We were not disappointed in the least, and I will definitely order this dish again and again, because I do plan to make this a regular destination.

Our next dish was samusa soup, a yellow curry-based broth with bits of falafel-like patties, chickpeas, shredded cabbage, and pieces of broken-up samosas. This is the perfect one-dish meal for one: hearty, satisfying, and full of complex flavors and textures.

Following our delectable soup was an entree simply described as shrimp and sour leaf. We asked the owner what this latter ingredient was, but apparently there is no name for it in the English language. Our dish came with a dozen medium-sized peeled shrimp in a tangy tomato-y sauce with a hint of saffron, and served with bamboo shoots. We ordered a side of coconut rice to sop up the rich, zesty sauce.

Unbelievably, we were able to squeeze in a semolina cake for dessert, a tasty square of semolina grain cooked with coconut. It had an interesting grainy texture without being dry.

I often bemoan the huge portions and offerings in most US restaurants. I'd much prefer to pay a few dollars less and receive smaller portions, which leaves me the option to order another dish and sample something else if I'm still hungry. Burmese Kitchen is such a place, and their plates are more in line with the portion sizes you'd find on the southeast Asian mainland.

In a word? Delicious!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First time ever I had Burmese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I never heard about a Burmese kitchen and I was really curious about it when I read about this restaurant. I went there with my mother, who happens to be vegetarian.

I enjoyed a lot both vegetarian and non-vegetarian dishes. Higly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burmese Kitchen also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Burmese Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burmese Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.