We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Start to the Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Cafe

Hollywood Cafe
530 North Point St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312 (Fisherman's Wharf)
(415) 563-3779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4,940 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: American, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Fisherman's Wharf
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great Start to the Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed at Fisherman's Wharf and woke up, jet-lagged, very early on a Sunday morning. Found this place on Trip. We got there for around 0705, it opens at 0700, and there were already a dozen or so people eating. We were given one of the last outdoor tables and there were people queuing to get in by 0720. We can see why - excellent service, great food, and lots of it, and all very, very reasonable priced. Give it a go, highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We appreciate being your first stop in the city, TWA. Thank you for the kind words and we hope the rest of your trip went as well as breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,031
    303
    67
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Great Spot for Breakfast or Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

There was about a 1/2 hour wait, but it was worth it. Food and presentation were great. Prices were reasonable, portions were big. Location is near Fisherman's Wharf. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We appreciate your endorsement, Gus. Thank you for the visit and the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best breakfast in San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We first discovered this place quite some years ago, and every time we go back it never disappoints. The breakfasts are second to non. It would too long to write everything that's is good about the food. So go and try it for yourself, but be prepared to wait for a table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi AERLJR. We appreciate all the return visits and your endorsement. Thank you for coming back and we look forward to seeing you again next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Expect to wait for a table a couple of minutes, but once your are seated you are in for a treat! Fantactic food!!! We orderd the Club Sandwich and a Bacon Omelette and we loved it! Expecially the fried that comes with the Club! Be awere that they close pretty early, around 2pm.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for visiting us Thomas and we appreciate the kind words. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your meal so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very good, but overated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Long wait for table, no doubt, due to Trip Advisor's (former) #1 rating (now #2). Very good service and breakfasts, although one of my poached eggs was overcooked (the other was fine). Fresh fruit was good too. Coffee seemed too strong for my wife (I don't drink it). There are far better breakfast choices, such as Sweet Maple, which is currently rated strangely as #39, which has far better food and no lineups.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your visit and nice review, The Baron. You are right, Sweet Maple is another great breakfast spot but we all have our strengths. We're happy you gave us a try and we hope to see you again next time you are in SF.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.