We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Start to the Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Cafe

Hollywood Cafe
530 North Point St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
(415) 563-3779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4,937 restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: American, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Start to the Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed at Fisherman's Wharf and woke up, jet-lagged, very early on a Sunday morning. Found this place on Trip. We got there for around 0705, it opens at 0700, and there were already a dozen or so people eating. We were given one of the last outdoor tables and there were people queuing to get in by 0720. We can see why - excellent service, great food, and lots of it, and all very, very reasonable priced. Give it a go, highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We appreciate being your first stop in the city, TWA. Thank you for the kind words and we hope the rest of your trip went as well as breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    966
    285
    60
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Great Spot for Breakfast or Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

There was about a 1/2 hour wait, but it was worth it. Food and presentation were great. Prices were reasonable, portions were big. Location is near Fisherman's Wharf. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We appreciate your endorsement, Gus. Thank you for the visit and the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The best breakfast in San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We first discovered this place quite some years ago, and every time we go back it never disappoints. The breakfasts are second to non. It would too long to write everything that's is good about the food. So go and try it for yourself, but be prepared to wait for a table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi AERLJR. We appreciate all the return visits and your endorsement. Thank you for coming back and we look forward to seeing you again next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Expect to wait for a table a couple of minutes, but once your are seated you are in for a treat! Fantactic food!!! We orderd the Club Sandwich and a Bacon Omelette and we loved it! Expecially the fried that comes with the Club! Be awere that they close pretty early, around 2pm.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for visiting us Thomas and we appreciate the kind words. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your meal so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very good, but overated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Long wait for table, no doubt, due to Trip Advisor's (former) #1 rating (now #2). Very good service and breakfasts, although one of my poached eggs was overcooked (the other was fine). Fresh fruit was good too. Coffee seemed too strong for my wife (I don't drink it). There are far better breakfast choices, such as Sweet Maple, which is currently rated strangely as #39, which has far better food and no lineups.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your visit and nice review, The Baron. You are right, Sweet Maple is another great breakfast spot but we all have our strengths. We're happy you gave us a try and we hope to see you again next time you are in SF.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.