We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG...!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Cafe

Hollywood Cafe
530 North Point St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
(415) 563-3779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4,920 restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: American, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Airdrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“OMG...!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

OMG... we went here for breakfast before we cycled over the Golden Gate bridge and we were certainly stuffed by the time we left!! The omelettes are out of this world... huge portions, loads of fresh fruit - definitely a great start to the day!! Highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We've powered a lot of people across that bridge, Mrs Aitchy! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and would love to see you again next time you make it to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    923
    265
    50
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Based on the high ratings on Tripadvisor, we decided to try the Hollywood Cafe for breakfast while on vacation. At first, we almost decided to go somewhere else as it is a small restaurant and honestly, did not look like anything special. Since we had no where to be we ended up staying and were glad that we did. The breakfast was great, but the showstopper which makes this place unique, is the assorted fruit bowl that comes with most orders. If you like fruit then this is must visit as the assorted fruit bowl has a ridiculous amount of fruit that includes by our count 12 different kinds of fruit. It is very reasonably priced, especially considering the amount of food you get. I would also recommend getting there early or during the week to avoid a long wait.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We're glad you made it it, SoonerSoze. We agree we're not much from the outside but we try our best to be memorable in other ways. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Let me start by saying I love breakfast... This place served one of the best I've had. The portions are huge and the food quality and service are worthy on the #1 ranking. The mimosas and chi tea latte were delicious. The eggs and hash browns were perfect. Finally, the service was attentive and fast.

If you like a good breakfast, I highly recommend this spot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Lissiejane. Thank you for the compliments and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. We'd love to see you again next time you are in SF!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great breakfast. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had breakfast here with good friends - fun experience.

We had to wait for about 20 minutes, but it was worth it.

If you order something that comes with a fruit bowl, you will be surprised how much fruit is in that bowl.

We tried some of the signature dishes - Vivian Leigh, Audrey Hepburn and Meat Lovers Omelet, all were great ....yum!! All of us were more than satisfied with our meals.

We will be back to try something else on their menu.

Oh, and the service was great! What can I say ... TRY IT :-D

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you Hotfarm. We're happy to hear you and your friends had a good time. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“ONE PLACE YOU HAVE TO GO TO FOR BREAKFAST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We went here on recommendations of other Tripadvisors. We were there at 7am and the place was packed! There were 2 tables left! We were shocked to see it so busy at that time in the morning.
We ordered breakfast and was not disappointed. It was very fresh and lots of it. The coffee was really nice and free refills given out regularly.
Breakfast for 2 of us came to $35 with the tip included but will fill you up so much you won't need lunch.
The staff are attentive and work hard.
This place is near the Holiday Inn and easy to find.
If you do go you just need to write your name on the list inside as there is always a queue. Seats are available outside as well as in for all you smokers!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We appreciate your endorsement, Scorpio40. Thank you for the visit and the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Cafe also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA

Been to Hollywood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.