We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place and people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Cafe

Hollywood Cafe
530 North Point St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312 (Fisherman's Wharf)
(415) 563-3779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5,005 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: American, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Fisherman's Wharf
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great little place and people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

A lot of food. Very good and the service was great. It's small and get there early. People were waiting at 8:15.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks for the visit and kind words, Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,118
    327
    72
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casselberry, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover! Excellent And not $$$$, more like $$”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Fresh generous yummy food! Unique enough to want to come back and try other breakfast dishes. Great cappuccinos , service too. Small quaint place, usually a line around 9am. But food comes out quick and lines more fast. Huge portions, enough to split, esp. Breakfast burrito. I do think there's an error with the rating of $$$$. It's not expensive at all. Relatively cheap. $$

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you Melissa. We appreciate the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, don't pass this one by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Read about the Hollywood Cafe before our trip to Sanfrancisco so it was on our list of places to eat and boy was it just worth it, in fact we ate here twice it was that good.
It's not glamorous but it is welcoming and the food here is just awesome.
There's a great selection on the menu, the service is quick and great value for money and some of the portions that came out were HUGE, so make sure your hungry.
Most of the dishes are served with a fabulous bowl of fresh fruit, perfect start to the day.
Make sure you go for breakfast, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello Helen. Thank you so much for coming in twice during your trip. We appreciate the business and the great review too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“So worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I usually avoid waiting for a table. My family made me suck it up for this place. So glad they did. The service is quick and friendly. The food is very good. The portions are large. The value is shockingly good. Go. Wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Family knows best, right Bucky? Thanks for coming in and we're glad you enjoyed your breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Small but soooo worth it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We had read the reviews on trip advisor and so knew sort of what to expect. We'd had breakfast in Denny's for 2 days in a row as it was in our hotel but needed something a bit healthier (less greasy at least).

Hollywood cafe is fantastic, we're not health nuts but the fruit bowl is overwhelmingly tempting, overflowing with raspberries, kiwi, blackberries, different melons, pineapple, banana (you get the picture) and comes as part of your eggs/bacon etc breakfast.

A few tips;

Don't be put off by the queue, they manage to work their way through it really quickly without ever making you feel rushed.
When you arrive, just give your name to the hostess at the front door, join the queue and listen for your name (it took us 5 mins and we got chatting to the couple in front of us so no hardship)
Try one of their specialities, I had the Vivienne Leigh which was amazing.

It's also much cheaper than the other places we tried and so fresh it's unbelievable .

Can't rate highly enough!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi AshBush. We are glad you found us. Thanks for the great review and for providing others all the helpful tips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.