We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Tasty Place for Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Cafe

Hollywood Cafe
530 North Point St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312 (Fisherman’s Wharf)
(415) 563-3779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fun and Tasty Place for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I looked for a Fun Place to eat Breakfast in San Francisco and I found it at Hollywood Cafe. It was one block from our hotel. Be sure and get there before 9:00 because the line forms close to that time. We sat outside and loved it. The weather was perfect and the food was the best! There were 4 of us and we all ordered something different so we could compare. We were not disappointed at all. The fruit was so fresh and the hashbrowns covered the whole plate. The pancakes looked so beautiful and were gobbled up quickly. My husband loves ham so his plate had a large portion of delicious ham on it. The waiters were always refilling our drinks and we didn't even have to ask them. This restaurant was our favorite breakfast restaurant because it had lots of variety and outstanding food that was different from other places!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi Lacey,

Thank you for having breakfast with us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed it so much. See you next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,279
    373
    80
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worst service...we left”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Im in a taxi now leaving Hollywood Cafe after waiting 30 min for a table...Then after being seated at a table outdoors we waited another 15 min without one person greeting us. We hailed a taxi and just left. Im sure the food is good but the sevice is less than poor. Im still hungry..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Amgs,

Please accept my apologies on behalf of the owner and entire staff. I can't imagine what happened but we will look into it and make sure it doesn't happen to anyone again. That certainly isn't anywhere near the normal level of service we offer. We'd love to have you back to show you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We waited fifteen minutes to be seated but felt it was worth the wait. Ordered the James Dean, Marilyn Monroe and Clark Gable. All excellent. Fresh and hot. Never felt rushed. Sour dough bread was good. Service pleasant. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dairycrest, thank you so much for having breakfast with us and for the kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The Best Breakfast in San Francisco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I had two amazing breakfasts here. Make sure you show up hungry, because they give you plenty of food, from the pile of sourdough toast to all the delicious fruit they give you that you didn’t even expect. The pancake combo with bacon and scrambled eggs was great. They were the best scrambled eggs I’ve ever had. I ate the same thing both days, and it was fabulous! The only drawback is that the it’s a small café, so you may have to wait, but it is so worth the wait! Just try to get there within a half hour of opening, and there won't be any wait. The incredibly friendly staff is also a plus.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you Daisy. We're happy to hear how much you liked your breakfasts with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Coming back tomorrow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Read the reviews on Trip advisor, and they were true. Great place! I loved how much fruit you got...blueberries, raspberries, etc. Definetely encourage others to split a plate...more food than one person can eat!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Tiredmommy,

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. Thanks for coming in and for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.