We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plant Cafe Organic

The Plant Cafe Organic
Pier 3, The Embarcadero, San Francisco, CA (The Embarcadero)
415 984 1973
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Plant Cafe Organic is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #319 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Healthy, Café, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: The Embarcadero
Cross street: Between Washington and Broadway
Transit: F Market MUNI Embarcadero BART
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We visited twice in the last month. Both times the wait was long for the restaurant and we chose to just order juices and bakery items the first time. The juices were fantastic. We returned a month later for lunch and ordered at the counter and sat upstairs (you can also sit outside). We were served quickly and the food is prepared in the same kitchen that serves the restaurant. Everything - salads, sandwiches, pizza, juices, smoothies were excellent! We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    68
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“rudest manager ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Wow the restaurant was cute and the food might have of looked good but after being bullied by a manager there who was outright an ***hole none of us would ever step foot in the place again. He was so rude all 12 of us canceled our second round of drinks and left. Thank God that there are plenty of waterfront restaurants to choose from when we come in from the East Bay.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I was excited to be here, after reading about it and certainly I was not disappointed. Really good food, service and atmosphere. Interesitng menu with lots of varieties. I had the wasabi plant burger and I enjoyed eating organic, fresh veggies.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I've been here twice (brunch and lunch) and both times had excellent experiences. The first time was for brunch -- I had the Plant Burger, my wife had the Breakfast Bowl (which she loved, and she's not a breakfast person), and we split the Roasted Potatoes (see accompanying photos). Though I'm not a huge beet person, the burger was good and beet lovers will find it amazing. The service on this visit was EXCEPTIONAL -- very attentive. Our second visit was for lunch, and we found the food to be just as amazing as the first time. The BBQ Tempeh Panini was nice and gooey, and her Avocado and Grapefruit Salad was light but filling. We love this place, and will definitely be going back (and will be bringing out-of-town visitors)!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Vegan burgers, good spices, lots of organics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a delightful dinner here: Wasabi veggie burgers and more. The menu is diverse, interesting, and occasionally challenging if you're not familiar with the ingredients. Everything is served cheerfully, and the atmosphere is "happening." A terrific place on the Embarcadero.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plant Cafe Organic also viewed

 

Been to The Plant Cafe Organic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plant Cafe Organic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.