We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VIEW & GREAT WORK OUT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Filbert Steps

Filbert Steps
Sansome St. & Filbert St., San Francisco, CA (Telegraph Hill)
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 317 Attractions in San Francisco
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 284 foot wooden-step walkway leading up to the top of Telegraph Hill.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“GREAT VIEW & GREAT WORK OUT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The views have to be seen!!! The work out your legs will get from
all the steps will help work out the meal you just had in North Beach, China town or Fisherman wharf. Its like steps to heave;
the views are so pristine.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    36
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Walk down!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We walked DOWN the Filbert Steps after visiting Coit Tower. It was so fun to see the gardens and houses along this steep residential area. It was really fun and the huge white calla lilies growing freely in little gardens were so pretty! I had hoped to see the parrots people speak of that perch in the trees along the steps, but I did not spot any.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

So we made this exhausting jaunt up these stairs, after climbing the huge hill to get to the stairs mind you, JUST in search of the 'parrots'.....never saw or heard a one. Now at least at the top, we did enjoy the Coit tower with its INCREDIABLE views of EVERYTHING. But next time, we will just take the bus that goes directly to the tower. Where were the birds that i've heard about for so many years??????

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very very cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this after a friend mentioned it and wow - highly reccomended!

Beautiful location and I felt like I was peaking into rich people's gardens.

We did coit tower and then walked down the steps over to the embardcero. This worked well.

Must see!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
363 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We also didn't know this was an attraction until we saw it here on Tripadvisor! It's really nice though - we walked up the Filbert Steps to Telegraph Hill to tour Coit Tower.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filbert Steps also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Filbert Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filbert Steps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.