We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Opera

San Francisco Opera
301 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA (415) 861-4008 (Civic Center)
(415) 861-4008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 394 Activities in San Francisco
Type: Operas, Performances
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Attend one of the best operas in the U.S. From September through January every year.
Deming, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was my first time at an opera and I enjoyed it very much! The Opera staff were very helpful in finding our seats and helping us with questions being our first time there. We had a great time!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    47
    8
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
533 reviews 533 reviews
312 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Visiting from England we were delighted to see that our trip coincided with a performance of the Opera company and were able to book simply on line. The Opera House itself is easy to reach being only a ten/fifteen minute walk from the Union Square area (drop down to Market Street and then up past the main library and City Hall to walk mainly on the level) alternately the F Tram takes you to the end of Van Ness. The building is on the grand scale and a very impressive tribute to the city. Sight lines are good and legroom whilst not huge is sufficient. We found the staff all very helpful and were seated without problem. Our big recommendation relates to the pre Opera talks that are free and given 55 minutes before curtain up to all ticket holders. Even though we knew the Opera we were seeing quite well we learned a lot and were given specific sound examples to compare with other productions. Much appreciated and this added to a great experience

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“UGH!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

A group of us went to see a nice production of La Boheme last year with a Romanian soprano and a really terrific Polish tenor. The result was a fair rendition of an old standard. The voices were excellent and the sets were OK. The biggest shock, to someone whose visit was his first, was the sound. Would you believe they had microphones and huge speakers stashed at the sides of the stage which made one feel he was in a rock concert arena. Terrible acoustical mess and irritating to a music lover. Let's petition David, the general manager to dispense with the artificial sound and bring back natural music!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Read this if you will need a taxi, and other good advice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The building itself is very beautiful. I would recommend just walking around and enjoying the building. There is a place for eating before hand, and also a "hospital" room in case you need a bandaid, or any other medical care.
Some people dress up for the opera, but you do not have to. You can come dressed very casual. If you need a taxi afterwards there is a process to follow. The taxis pick you up at the side entrance. If you are in front of the building looking at the main doors, it is to your left. When you arrive, go to those doors. There will be a man there who will take your name. Afterwards you go outside to those doors and he has taxis lined up for the people who reserved them beforehand. Anyone else has to wait and could be waiting for awhile.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wow, what atreat to have a world-class opera in SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We brought my opera-singing father to the Barber of Seville, and it was one of the great events of our lives. Spectacular talent and voices, spectacular set design and surprising changes, spectacular orchestra and extras. What a treat.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Opera also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.