We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what atreat to have a world-class opera in SF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Opera

San Francisco Opera
301 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA (415) 861-4008 (Civic Center)
(415) 861-4008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 374 attractions in San Francisco
Type: Operas
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Attend one of the best operas in the U.S. From September through January every year.
Davis, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wow, what atreat to have a world-class opera in SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We brought my opera-singing father to the Barber of Seville, and it was one of the great events of our lives. Spectacular talent and voices, spectacular set design and surprising changes, spectacular orchestra and extras. What a treat.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    36
    2
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked tickets to the Flying Dutchman months in advance. Great performance. The Opera house is Nicly decorated. There is a cafe downstairs. You can also participate on the pre opera information that takes place around one hour before the performance. From an aquatic point of view the Opera House could have been better, but then again what can you expect from a opera house built many years ago. My favorite opera house is in Oslo, Norway.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Olivos
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“OUT OF TOWNERS WEEKEND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We saw Verdi's Requiem, The Flying Dutchman and Falstaff at the War Memorial Opera House. We love these Opera Weekends. We also saw The Nose, live from the MET on Saturday morning.

Visited October 2013

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“One of America's greatest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The War Memorial Opera house is a beautiful gem, and the performances are first rate. Not everyone will like ALL productions--where in the Opera world does anyone?--but it's always a fantastic evening well spent.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Season ticket holders-”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have been enjoying the opera for 5 years now. We love the productions that we have seen so far for the 13-14 season. Our only complaint is that at these prices,I do not want to see new productions or modern interpretations of beloved classics so we stick to 3 or 4 productions per year.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Opera also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Francisco Opera to your Saves list