We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time had by all!!! Lots of laughs!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Blanket Babylon

Beach Blanket Babylon
678 Beach Blanket Babylon Boulevard (Green Street), Club Fugazi, San Francisco, CA (North Beach)
+1 415-421-4222
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$52*
and up
Ranked #42 of 393 Activities in San Francisco
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On June 7, 1974, Steve Silver produced a small show in the back room of the Savoy Tivoli Restaurant in San Francisco. The show was to run for six weeks. That was over 37 years ago... Today, Steve Silver's Beach Blanket Babylon has the distinguished title of "World's Longest Running Musical Revue." The show - a musical spoof known internationally for its extravagant costumes, outrageous hats, show-stopping numbers and hilarious puns of pop culture and political character - has been seen by over 5.5 Million people, including HRC Queen Elizabeth II, Prince Charles and Camilla the Duchess of Cornwall as well as some of Hollywood's biggest stars."Steve Silver's Beach Blanket Babylon," hailed as "a constant cascade of showstoppers" by the "San Francisco Chronicle", follows Snow White as she takes a fast-paced journey around the world in search of her "Prince Charming." Along the way she encounters a star-studded, ever-changing line-up of hilarious pop-culture characters, including President Barack & Michelle Obama, Gangnam Style, Prince William, Kate Middleton and the Queen of England, Honey Boo Boo, Governor Jerry Brown, Justin Bieber, Nicki Minaj, Hilary & Bill Clinton, Oprah Winfrey, Nancy Pelosi, Michael Jackson, Adele, General David Patraeus, "50 Shades of Grey," and The San Francisco Giants.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great time had by all!!! Lots of laughs!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have seen this show many times over the years, and I am never disappointed. The music is wonderful full of laughs, and the cast is very talented, costumes are amazing!!! We usually bring friends from out of town when they are visiting because they have never seen anything like it and they really enjoy it. Be prepared there is some language and snarky jokes but my guest are always glad they came . There are some matinee shows that are appropriate for the younger crowd. I have never had a bad seat, the theatre is very small so arrive early for best seat choice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    999
    252
    52
    19
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Mad Cap, Rip Roaring Good Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

It is hard to imagine how such an ongoing show can stay fresh, but it does. I have seen the show over a dozen times and it never gets old. They take the latest news and scandals from politics and celebrities and incorporate it into a new show while keeping the best parts of the original. Truly not to be missed. I take every out of town guest to see it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous Musical Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I went expecting snarky jokes, a few songs, and some laughs. I was quite surprised by the talent in this show. There were some snarky jokes and quite a few laughs, but I was completely impressed with the vocal quality of the singers and the talent of the live band. I can't recommend this highly enough. It's well worth the ticket price.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Lots of laughs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our group of four really enjoyed the show. In San Francisco for a girls weekend it really got us laughing.

We arrived an hour ahead of show time, and got good seats. I'm not sure if I'd want to be in the back half, but other reviewers said that there isn't a bad seat in the house.

The balcony side seats would have been exceptional.

After the show we went to the Irish Pub a few doors down...figured it would be better than waiting for the washroom in the theatre, and a good way to cap off the evening. Drinks there were good, the ambiance was great, and it gave us some time to re-hash the show and laugh some more.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised, a real treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Very talented cast, very entertaining experience. We went to a Sunday matinee since we had an eleven year old with us. It turned out to be fun for us all.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Blanket Babylon also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Beach Blanket Babylon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Blanket Babylon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.