We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legendary SF Comedy Club.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punch Line

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Punch Line
444 Battery St. between Clay and Washington, Financial District, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)
415-397-7573
Improve this listing
Ranked #264 of 394 Activities in San Francisco
Type: Comedy Clubs, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come laugh your way to this reasonably priced comedy venue.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Legendary SF Comedy Club.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

As a native SFer, Ive been here probably over two dozen times, most recently this past Saturday to see Erin Foley and Dan St. Germain. Hilarious! Small venue and up close and personal make it a great place for small groups or couples. Service was very fast and food was yummy. Keep it up and I'll definitely be back to The Punch Line!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comedians were awesome, Service sucked!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We saw a great set by Dat Phan and absolutely loved him and the actual show! It's not really fair to give this place a terrible review, but the service was terrible, and that is the only thing that stays constant since the acts change daily. I would definitely recommend going to see a show here, but don't expect service. Our waitress was just awful. With a two drink minimum, they sure do make it difficult to get a drink! We waited over 15 minutes after sitting down before she came over to take our drink order. Then she didn't come back for over an hour. Anyways, about 20 or so minutes before the set was over she came over with the bill, without asking if we wanted to order anything else, she had already closed the tab. I asked her for another glass of wine, telling her she can just run the card again to which her response was, "Well I already closed it out, and he is almost finished I think so you'll be fine" I was shocked, really. The set lasted another 15-20 minutes, very disappointed in the service.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good comedy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Not huge headliners when we went, but hey, we were in SF and had never been to this iconic place. A little hard to find

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Comedy Club in the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

As a fan of Stand Up comedy, I've been to most of the noteworthy clubs in the states, this is my favorite. The talent is superb and the booker cares about comedy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great theatre on top of a parking garage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We saw the winner of last years "Last Comic Standing" and the show was great. Similar to many other city comedy clubs that attract reasonable headliners, the Punch Line was a good experience. Ticlets were around $20 for the show plus a two drink minimum. We left happy.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punch Line also viewed

 

Been to Punch Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punch Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.