We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will probably skip it in the future” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center to your Saves list
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 9th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Sagaponack, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will probably skip it in the future”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Certainly adequate and my least expensive option. The hotel is definitely in a sketchy couple block area at the corner of Mission and 9th. I felt ok but would not bring my wife and kids. Two female colleagues also stayed at this hotel and were uncomfortable returning after dark. Rooms are adequate: clean towels and sheets and the bathroom area was clean. Carpet was oldish so cleanliness was difficult to discern. Small coffee maker, a microwave and a small refrigerator. Flat screen TV is nice. Design (open courtyard) and location make noise an issue for what I am guessing is every room. My ear plugs provided a satisfactory work-around. Our last evening was even louder with a group of guests drinking and standing in open doorways. An altercation the next morning at 5:30am in the courtyard/parking area was even more unpleasant. My calls to the front desk to alert them were never answered. Nobody at the front desk upon departure at around 8:30am.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1019, General Manager at SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We are sorry for not meeting your expectations. Hotel policy is to have doors open by 7am. On your departure date, more than likely there may have been a few minutes where the front desk personnel may have stepped outside or upstairs for some reason. We appreciate your input so that we can continue to improve the level of service we provide to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    37
    10
    23
See reviews for
12
34
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Friendly front desk staff and rooms recently updated. Older style property but effort has been made to update and maintain the property. Card access required to enter elevator and side doors which made me feel more secure. I appreciated the fact the hotel has recently gone nonsmoking. Parking is available for a fee. Complimentary coffee is available in the morning at the front desk or you can brew your own in the room. Noise was a problem at night given the location in the middle of SOMA, so I would suggest bringing ear plugs. The first night someone outside was hollering all night. While the surrounding areas are showing some signs of recent gentrification, there are still plenty of homeless and transients on surrounding streets as can be expected in downtown San Fran. Hotel is two blocks from Civic Center Muni and BART station.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1019, General Manager at SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your input. We are happy that your experience was positive. Unfortunately, you are correct, we are at a busy corner and there are certain times at which it can get a bit noisy. We hope that this will not factor in your decision in staying with us the next time you are in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Had 4 days here, mainly for the location
Reasonably priced and clean
Fridge microwave and coffee maker and a dining table.
Good security as you cant get to the doors without your access key.
Surprisingly quiet for being on a busy intersection

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1019, General Manager at SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay in March. We appreciate your input so that we can continually improve our guest's experience. To that end, we became a completely smoke free hotel early this year. Your stay may have coincided with our transition from a mixed to a smoke free hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and we hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Thanks again for your valuable input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Excellent staff with outstanding service. They went above and beyond to give the services we needed. They hooked us up with free extra bed in both of our rooms. I don't care what other people say about this hotel, but we will definitely come back and stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel has good value for money. The staff was tremendously friendly. As it is in the center of San Francisco, it is quite noisy. It is a 15min walk from the hotel to Union Square or the Moscone Center.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had to make an unplanned trip to San Fran. The price was right, BART access was a piece of cake and the room was clean and ready early. There is also a small market directly across the street. Add friendly staff and what's not to like? Sure it might be no frills, but in that department it is more than adequate. Didn't have a chance to try the wifi. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center

Address: 101 9th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Downtown)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Francisco. We are a block away from Market Street (the main street in SF) and within walking distance to the Moscone Convention Center, Cable Cars, Civic Center, Asian Art Museum, and Union Square among other sights of the city. We offer clean comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate all year round. Onsite parking is available at fee. We offer free WiFi, free coffee and free newspaper to compliment our professionally decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Downtown Hotel San Francisco
Rodeway Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.