We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center to your Saves list
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 9th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Downtown) (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Stillwater, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was okay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We only needed the hotel for an overnight as we arrived in San Fran late in the evening. The hotel was small, and okay. Yes there was an "aroma", but then again...it's legal in California. We walked across the street and bought a can of air freshener. No big deal. The hotel staff was wonderful...helped us with tips, directions, etc. Very, very friendly!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    37
    12
    23
See reviews for
12
34
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We picked this hotel only because it is around the corner from the Orpheum Hotel and it was the only nearby hotel not sold out for that night. The area around this hotel is pretty bad, lots of homeless sleeping on the sidewalks and some apparent drug deal activity. So you pretty much need to stay in your room at night, or if your walking around be aware of your surroundings and walk like you mean it! The hotel clerk was really nice, he even carried our bags up to our room when we arrived and down when we left, even though he was the only person on duty. The first floor is all parking so to get to your room on 2nd or 3rd floor you have to use your key card to get in the elevator or the stairs. This made us feel a bit safer. The room itself was really small but pretty clean except the rug needed a good shampoo. Nice flat screen TV with Direct TV and 5 HBO channels were a nice perk. I would stay at this hotel again if I had to stay in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Bad neighborhood, lots of homeless, the rooms were alright not the best. The management was very helpful. Hated the elevator, it looks like a old service elevator. Also I was charged $15 dollars a night for parking in a very small spot and it wasn't protected, if anything happened to your car that was your problems. Also no continental breakfast or coffee. There are homeless people all around in the parking lot etc. I stay in your Choice hotels all the time, I was disappointed on this one will not stay there again. Noisy area, lots of traffic

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I am reposting this review due to the fact that the manager of this not so fine establishment had it pulled from trip advisor. Apparently the truth hurts when you want to paint a rosy picture of a terrible hotel.
In short, dirty smelly rooms, bedbug encasements on the mattresses, and a staff that couldn't care less about your concerns. Your money is better spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had a recent trip to San Francisco for a business conference and some time off. Two friends accompanied me and we decided on the Rodeway Inn for our stay. The room was basic but clean. No shortage of fresh towels and linen. There was a fridge and microwave in the room which we found very useful. Also had tea and coffee making facilities.

Only negative is the area around the hotel. A lot of homeless people and a very noisy intersection.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the inner side of the hotel away from the road. Should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1019, General Manager at SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Stuart T.,

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jay Bhakta
General Manager
Rodeway Inn Dowtown
415-621-3655
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very bad neighborhood. Lots of homeless and crazy people. They charge $15 a night for very tight parking spaces even with small car. Wound up with a bunch of door dings on my new car. You can't leave anything in the car or it will be stolen. They give you the wifi tech support number when you check in because they know it wont work. The elevator is a joke so we had to use the stairs. The rooms are ok but you can't sleep due to the loud traffic and street noise. There was no continental breakfast. We tried to cancel our second night the next morning but they wouldn't let us. I would sleep in my car before staying in this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1019, General Manager at SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
3Murray:

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Jay Bhakta
General Manager
Rodeway Inn Dowtown
415-621-3655
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This property was reasonably located and had free car parking. The rooms were clean and well kept but it was a little worrying that the homeless seemed to be living on the street nearby. We were given a map with a demarcation zone to avoid from the manager which was useful information but we were still walking in areas where there were homeless and we were asked for handout from a begger.
If you are travelling in a group and don't need to go out at night it would probably be ok but not for women travelling alone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center

Address: 101 9th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Francisco. We are a block away from Market Street (the main street in SF) and within walking distance to the Moscone Convention Center, Cable Cars, Civic Center, Asian Art Museum, and Union Square among other sights of the city. We offer clean comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate all year round. Onsite parking is available at fee. We offer free WiFi, free coffee and free newspaper to compliment our professionally decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Downtown Hotel San Francisco
Rodeway Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.