We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively, Efficient and Fresh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropisueno

Tropisueno
75 Yerba Buena Lane, San Francisco, CA 94103
4152430299
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tropisueno is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mission Street and Market Street
Transit: Tropisueno is close to BART, MUNI, and taxis of course.
Rocklin, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lively, Efficient and Fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We chose Tropisueno via Trip Advisor reviews. Should have made a reservation, but we forgot. It was packed when we got there but didn't take long to get a table, the hostess was very friendly and aware of our waiting. The waiter was attentive, and kept bringing chips and salsa right up until we got our food. The salsas were kinda fun; three different ones. The food was fine. It's a little noisy but that did not bother our family at all. The restaurant is on an open air mall; there are two museum gift shops there too, really interesting stuff inside! It's an easy walk to Union Square as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    95
    25
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westland, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not the best I have eaten.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I had my favorite Chicken Mole. The dish was really too sweet compared to the mole I am used to eating. It wasn't bad by any means, but mole is a favorite dish and I was disappointed.
Mango Serrano Margarita - this deserves its own review. I love hot food......saying this the drink was not enjoyable. The taste was good but the burn from the rim of the glass was off putting. I would have preferred a regular rim. This would have made the drink more enjoyable. As you reach the bottom of the drink the serranos floating in the bottom, intensify the heat of the drink. A nice sweet and not combo, but the hot salty rim ruined it for me.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Food was average and the place is too noisy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We tried to have dinner here twice, but there was always a long waiting time for a table (no maker the time you arrived). Anyway, once we decided to tray and waited for 30 minutes.
When we finally had a table, the nachos was good! The menu was not traditional Mexican food but it had a modern twist to it. When the food arrived it had a good appearance but it was plain. The great Mexican flavour was lost ….
Also it is too loud!
I have to say that the staff service was very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This has to be the best authentic Mexican restaurant north of the border. The food was excellent.
The Chile Verde was incredible. Very tender. Service was also perfect. Only thing, it was a bit dark in there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Try the Duende at the bar. Perhaps the best margarita ever! Then again, I can't imagine anything on the margarita menu would be bad here!

You may have to wait awhile for your table, but the reward that awaits you once you get there makes it all worthwhile. Servings are plentiful. Waitstaff was only so-so, but when they start to bother you, order another Duende.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropisueno also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tropisueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropisueno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.