We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and green space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Presidio of San Francisco

Presidio of San Francisco
San Francisco, CA 94129
+1 415-561-5300
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Presidio of San Francisco like an insider
Special Offer
$96*
and up
San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir...
Ranked #33 of 719 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking, Walking, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A military installation from 1776 until 1994, the Presidio saw duty for Spain, Mexico and the U.S.; it is now a national park with almost 1,500 acres of hiking and biking trails, beautiful beaches and stunning views.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“History and green space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

This lovely area tucked beside the Golden Gate Bridge, is full of unexpected surprises. It has lots of historic army buildings, which all match. Very quaint and wooden. It has gardens and green spaces for roaming and relaxing, recreation areas, and more. Get lost in there for an afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    137
    24
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Wonderful views. Perfect respite in Presidio National Park.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

So enjoyable to slow down the pace a bit and just take in the beauty of the park setting. It feels like being in a forest, with so much to discover around each bend. Walking the park is the best way to enjoy the park and great exercise, too. Lots of history here and you can take your time exploring the base and the grounds. The views of San Francisco Bay always take my breath away and Golden Gate Bridge is to me the most beautiful example of engineering anywhere. Consider taking a picnic lunch and finding a perfect spot to just relax and dine in lovely setting.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Another treasure in San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

II love this park. Possible even more than Golden Gate Park, tho they are very different. Except for (the many) military builldings here there are many parts of this park that feel wild.. Its a beautiful place to just drive through, much less hike in. The views of the ocean and Golden Gate Bridge are fabulous. We are all very fortunate that this place has not been developed further since it was surplused by the military. There's "something for every one" here.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Large Park in the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Presidio National Park is a lovely place to , jog, hike, bike, walk or drive. A former military army base the park offers lots of trees, historic military architecture & a bay shoreline & Pacific Ocean views. The military cemetery is worth a visit. On a smaller scale is the pet cemetery.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views, but some Overpriced Museums”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We hadn't been to visit the Presidio since it was turned into a national park. The ocean side of the park was where we spent most of the time. Spectacular views of the entrance to San Francisco Bay and the Golden Gate Bridge from the old gun emplacements. It is too bad none of the guns were there to see. Many nice places to walk with lots of wildlife and areas to bicycle as well. We went down to the Disney Museum where there is an exhibit of cells from the Snow White movie, but we balked at the $20 per person fee. We had just come from the Legion of Honor museum where you you see Old masters for less. Food in the park seems to limited to cafes with sandwich type items, and other than the one at the Disney Museum, their location seems to be a mystery; they are not well marked on park maps. We did enjoy it and want to see more, and perhaps play the golf course which we heard was outstanding.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Presidio of San Francisco also viewed

 

Been to Presidio of San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidio of San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.