We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of parking, and nice beach ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach

Ocean Beach
Fulton St & Great Hwy, Golden Gate National Recreation Area, San Francisco, CA 94121
(415) 561-4323
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Ocean Beach like an insider
Special Offer
$96*
and up
San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir...
Ranked #102 of 719 things to do in San Francisco
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At the edge of the Pacific, beachcomb, build sand castles or bonfires, but don't swim. The tumultuous waters can be too rough to handle.
Northern California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lots of parking, and nice beach ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Some people had a Bon fire. It gets real cold during the evening so don't forget a jacket. Always carry good toilet paper. This beach has been chill the last couple of times I've been to. It's right by the zoo. More of a beach to sit and reflect on life. Take chairs. Real nice drive too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    70
    28
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely wide beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Was a very windy day when I was there, but a fabulous place to walk...either along the beach or along the sidewalk. You can watch the surfers here!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful (in the summer, at least...)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I live in the East Bay, so Ocean Beach makes for a solid day trip. I've been coming here since high school.

It's not too hard to get to. It's located on the very western end of San Francisco next to the Cliff House. You can get there by taking the N Judah Muni all the way to the end of the line, or drive. From downtown, you just take Geary Boulevard all the way to the Western End - it eventually turns into the Great Highway. There are numerous parking lots next to the sand; there always seems to be enough parking at any time of the day.

Pros:

In the summer, or if it's a nice day out, this place is stunningly beautiful. You can see the Cliff House on one end, and the European-style windmills behind the beach. Watching the sun set here is breathtaking. It's a wonderful place for photographers or people who just want to relax and unwind, either with friends, family, or solo. It's also a great date spot for couples; I've taken a few of my dates here and we've enjoyed it every time.

It's a GREAT place to have a bonfire. They have small fire rings that you have to build your fire in - you can't just pick anywhere. The fire rings are located on a certain stretch about midway between the water and the car park.

It's a wonderful place for walkers, runners, bikers, skaters, rollerblading, etc. There's a trail that runs along beach between the sand and the parking lot. The trail goes all the way down the beach line and up to the Cliff house restaurant, eventually into the Richmond neighborhood of the city.

The beach is VERY well maintained. There is no litter or glass that I've encountered on the beach. Even though the water is freezing, it's crystal clear and clean. Pretty much the only "litter" are the broken, hollowed out shells of crustaceans, but that's nature's doing.

Cons:
It's a HUGE beach. To get from one end of the sand to the water takes quite a walk, made a little more difficult by the fact you are walking in some very fine-grain sand - your feet sink! It'll burn you on warmer days.

You are not going to get a Caribbean/Mediterranean kind of feel when you dip your feet into the water - it's San Francisco. What does that mean? The water is COLD, no matter what!

The waves can be rough, and the riptide is quite strong. It's not a good idea to go too far out into the water - it's too dangerous. Most people I see are just splashing in the water or boogie-boarding on the smaller waves.

All in all, it's a wonderful place to spend an afternoon and a must-see for tourists and locals alike.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Playland at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I was born in San Francisco at St. Mary's Hospital. I was raised in South San Francisco. I loved the ocean beach because of Playland at the Beach. It was a wonderful amusement park back in the 1950-1960s. I remember there was a great fun house, penny arcade, and other amusement games. I recall, a feris wheel and roller coaster too. In the 1970s the city tore down Playland at the Beach and they replaced it with condos. How sad! I am not sure but I think the It's It Ice Cream factory is still there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, md
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Who knew it would be so cold?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We took the N Judah train out to Ocean Beach thinking we'd see the Pacific side of San Francisco. It was a nice ride, about a half hour from Civic Center, with most of it outside. It was really amazing to see and feel the difference in weather! We left sunny, mild civic center and ended up in cold cloudy Ocean Beach. We definitely weren't dressed for the cold, but did manage a brisk walk on the beach - note that there is no boardwalk, you are walking right on the beach. it is nice and wide, and empty. We saw Cliff House and a few surfers. Afterwards we crossed the street to the Beach Chalet to warm up and grab something to drink/eat and then wandered around the park a bit. The whole visit was a bit more than 2 hours, but the beach is free, if the weather was nicer we probably would have stayed longer.
Despite the cold, it was well worth the trip and visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Beach also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Ocean Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.