We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's freezing, but the sunsets are beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach

Ocean Beach
Fulton St & Great Hwy, Golden Gate National Recreation Area, San Francisco, CA 94121
(415) 561-4323
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$96*
and up
San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir...
Ranked #63 of 317 Attractions in San Francisco
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At the edge of the Pacific, beachcomb, build sand castles or bonfires, but don't swim. The tumultuous waters can be too rough to handle.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's freezing, but the sunsets are beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This part of SF is rarely warm. We get a few days a year where wearing shorts and a T-shirt are actually doable, but most days, you need a jacket minimally. sometimes you feel like you have to dress like the kid from A Christmas Story (I can't move my arms). But you can sit down at Ocean Beach with very few people and watch gorgeous sunsets. You can also watch the most amazing surfers throughout the day. There are surfers who get out there every morning in the freezing cold weather and surf that freezing cold water. It's amazing to watch them. The water - it's about 60 degrees on a good day. you're not getting in any swimming at Ocean Beach. When the wind comes up, you'll get bombarded with sand and feel a full face exfoliation. You have to be a hearty beach goer to enjoy it, wear warm clothes, and if you want to escape, go to the windmill, enjoy the tulips, then head up through Golden Gate Park.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    61
    21
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“blue heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

When I was visiting San Francisco I had three "pleasure" priorities to fulfill on my trip 1) Massage, 2) Beaches, and 3) Dining. Being a resident of South Florida and an avid beach bum, I was eager to experience Ocean Beach in comparison with the many beaches I have visited around the world.

After disembarking the street car, I had walked a few minutes and arrived at the entrance to Ocean Beach. At first glance, I marveled at the mere size of this beach. I have never seen the berm of a beach this wide and this long, it takes like 5 minutes just to walk from the entrance of the beach up unto the sandbar. It also appears it would take you about 15 minutes or so to walk the whole length of the Beach. This beach is incredible, it has a lot more room for tanners than any other beach I had seen in my life. You do not have to worry about being shoulder to shoulder with other beach goers.

Ocean Beaches sand was comely to the eye and comfortable to the touch, the water was dark blue and cloudy and not to warm. Ocean Beach does not have the pristine light blue almost transparent water like in Fort Lauderdale or Jamaica. But Ocean Beach exhibits beauty in its on way and right.

What really makes this beach special is the forms of Earth life that permeates its waters. There are sea lions, whales, dolphins all kinds of creatures small and large which makes this beach special. One thing I have learned in life is where ever you see life in its grand spectacle, you can feel the power of the life force in that place, much like this beach. This is definitely a special place.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Wow.... what else ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The sunset there are wonderfull !
The place is calm and nice.

Don't forget to go to the Beach house. They serve hand crafted ales, and a panoramic view of the ocean is nice. Please say "Hello" for me to the bartender. She has a so wonderful smile !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Peaceful...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Looking for a place that is peaceful and at the same time fun and exhilarating? Then come to Ocean Beach and have a blast. I spent my New Year's morning here with a traditional dip into the Ocean, lots of fun. A Must Go.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Surfers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Spent some time on this beach watching all the surfers. Usually very crowded with them. Lots of people seem to build bonfires here. Mostly not too crowded on this beach. Great place to see the ocean and Seal Rock.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Beach also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Ocean Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.