We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating relic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haas - Lilienthal House

Haas - Lilienthal House
2007 Franklin Street at Washington Street, Pacific Heights, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Pacific Heights)
415 441 3004
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$58*
and up
Ranked #102 of 317 Attractions in San Francisco
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Queen Anne style home, now a museum, was the house where the merchant family of blue jeans (Haas) and canned goods (Lilienthal) lived.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fascinating relic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The house is perhaps more impressive outside than in .
The interior furnishings reflect middle class taste in the late 19th to early 20th centuries.
Open for very restricted times it is good to see how people actually lived.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“could have been better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I am a history enthusiast, and couldn't wait to see this home a place where time stopped, its basically a museum of the Victorian home/lifestyle behind the scenes. I waited on a step on the front steps with baited breath to get inside, and the house was worth it but the particular tour guide we got rushed us along. She would speak of items in the room as we faced her and then turn to move on to the next room before we had a chance to view the item or piece and tell us to move along. Myself and another woman and one of the men seemed to always want a moment to look at the wall treatment, china, painting and we'd be told to come out of the room. Its best to get there in the morning for the first showing for the least crowd in your group. Our 11 year old came along but young hildren would become easily bored and the house doesn't cater to wheelchairs. Cheap entertainment at $8.00 each and really good if you are into this sort of thing.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Walking tour of Pacific Heights”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Went on the Sunday docent led walking tour of Pacific Heights from Haas-Lilienthal House. We felt the walk covered far too much territory and that it would have been preferable to have a shorter route to allow more time to appreciate the lovely homes we were rushed past. Found it disappointing and should have done one of the self-guided tours available on their web site.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A good insight into Victorian San Fransisco”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

An interesting insight into the Victorian era in San Francisco. The tour (which was almost personal as there was only 4 of us) was very good, with the guide very enthusiastic about the subject and very engaging.
It was also interesting learning about the earthquake of 1906 and the aftermath in the city.

$8 entrance fee as of April '14

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not user friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We had high hopes of a self directed tour through the house. We were told that that wasn't possible..a tour had just started and they were an hour long. You could see it was a genuine old house in the lobby and the price, as I remember it, was $5 for seniors. If I had gone through it I don't know if I would have had trouble with the steps.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haas - Lilienthal House also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Haas - Lilienthal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haas - Lilienthal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.