We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Francisco Marriott Union Square to your Saves list
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Hotel 480)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #41 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

I enjoyed everything about my stay at the Crowne Plaza. The location was great; near Union square shops, handy to the cable car (if you like that form of transport - I prefer foot). The food at the conference I attended was excellent. The internet connection could have been cheaper though - like free. I've stayed in cheaper hotels where it's free. The relaxation pack provided was a bit of a gimmick, but nice that they tried. The staff were all very friendly and courteous. Overall very enjoyable, and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    480
    118
    37
    14
See reviews for
245
284
64
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

San Fran was our first port of call on a month long trip. We arrived before checkin time but they allowed us to check straight in. The service was second to none, with everyone from the front desk and concierge to the bartender/room service (a special mention to Tom) totally professional, courteous and friendly. Our room was well appointed, well serviced and large. We liked it so much we rebooked for our return to San Fran before flyng home to Australia. It's handy to shops, restaurants and local attractions. The cable cars to Fishermans wharf run alongside the hotel and Chinatown is just around the corner. It's a tad expensive but we definitely got what we paid for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2006

We came to San Francisco for a family holiday and were greatly surprised and pleased with our stay and service from the staff at this hotel.
The conceirge and door staff were very knowledgable and assisted at every opportunity. The front desk staff were really pleasant and helpful as well.
The beds were outstanding and great to fall into at the end of our day.
Did not have an opportunity to eat at the hotel as there were too many options nearby that we took advantage of - some of which we were guided to by the door men.
Will definitely stay here again, a great hotel in a very safe area and outstanding service.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, AUS
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2006

Poor customer service from the front desk. Not friendly, not helpful. An older type hotel, looked a bit run down. Needs a makeover to bring it up to the mark. 4 outta 10.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, IL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

Great location with great access to public transportation. We jumped on the cable car to take us everywhere. Close to chinatown and walking distance to many retail shops. Hotel was somewhat pricey but very very clean.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2006

Stayed there during the easter week. Loved the location, close to Union Square shopping locations as well as cable car turnaround.

Staff was particulary friendly and attentive; Room was conveniently sized; beds excellent. Breakfast buffet offers everything needed to start the day.

The only thing we would definitely not recommend is the food from the streetside Cafe Fresco belonging to the hotel. I would rank what is served there (at low cost of course) close to worst food in the world.

Anyway, if we ever return to San Francisco, we will choose the Crowne Plaza Union Square again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2006

I booked hotwire and got a great deal. Staff were friendly and helpful, particularly the porters. The room was large with an extremely comfortable bed. Furnishings were bland but nice enough. Fantastic location right on Union Square, close to numerous shops and restaurants and a couple of blocks from Chinatown.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from the hotel. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Marriott Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.