We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fear” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Central to your Saves list
Travelodge Central
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1707 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #211 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    82
    110
    104
    217
See reviews for
103
106
95
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I would not stay here EVER, under any circumstance. The Manager was flip and rude, room smelled and it is in a scary part of town. NOTE that parking at the hotel is extra so they can appear to have lower rates, they do not.

Room Tip: Do not stay here ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great location friendly staff/management. My room is always clean, and neat. If I ever have a maintenance problem the guy is there within five minutes fixes the problem and he's out of there! If you're looking for a high-end hotel that you need to go somewhere else but if you're looking for a convenient hotel that since we located to the Castor and downtown then this is the perfect place. it's nice to have the daily breakfast complements of the hotel. I always stay at this hotel every time I come to San Francisco and that will continue. Giorgio

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

If you are reading this don´t do it to yourself to stay at this hotel. I knew I was going to a low standard hotel but topped every scale in low standards. First off we got a smoking room even though we asked for a non smoking room. That room was so poor that the paint was falling from the ceiling, the smell was awful and the door looked like it had been smashed down couple of times and put back together. We then got a non smoking room which was a step up. But even that had only a small screw to secure the window that you could walk in from the street if you wanted to. As there was no security. On numbers occasion I felt threatened by homeless people who among others went though the garbage outside the hotel.
JUST DON´T DO IT TO YOURSELF!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed w/ my mom &5 year old medically fragile son making arrangements for a crib because of my son's medical history & recent surgeries on his head. When we arrived they informed there were no cribs

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Without a doubt the worst hotel we've had the displeasure of staying in. To begin, the man behind the reception to check us in was extremely unwelcoming and ignorant. Entering our room was made difficult throughout our stay as the cards never seemed to want to work and we kept needing to get them reset at the desk.
The room itself very basic and walls and floors were not clean to the standard you'd expect. Our bedsheets had cigarette burns on them and some questionable stains that didnt leave much to the imagination.
The location was fairly convenient as it wasn't too far from San Francisco's beautiful attractions and Valencia Street is good for bars and restaurants. However this particular area we found was rife in crime, we were confronted by a drug dealer whilst having a cigarette outside who told us to keep quiet whilst he went about his business on the hotel premises!
Our morning wake up call came courtesy of the local homeless folk raiding the litter bin right outside our room and sleeping naked near the carpark.
There was no sign of any security throughout the whole stay which i found incredible considering the price of our rooms.
It cost us around $800 dollars for three of us for a four night stay representing terrible value for money.
We did not feel comfortable at this hotel, we did not feel welcomed, we did not feel clean and most importantly we did not feel safe.
All in all without a doubt the most disgusting example of a 'Hotel' we have ever came across. DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

These rooms are super cramped, but they were clean. We just needed a cheap place to sleep, so I didn't have high expectations. You can barely walk between the bed and the dressers. Notes that you have to pay $15 for parking! The breakfast is cereal, juice and packaged pastries, but my kids though it was great.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Central

Address: 1707 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Central 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco, on Market Street, midway between downtown and the colorful Castro District, our hotel is the perfect place for travelers to stay when visiting San Francisco. All our rooms feature in-room coffee, safe and hairdryer, telephone data port, and cable television with HBO/CNN/ESPN. Guests also enjoy a free continental breakfast and weekday USA Today newspaper in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Central Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.