We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be avoided” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Central to your Saves list
Travelodge Central
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1707 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #210 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
La Genetouze, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“To be avoided”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Don't like being negative but this hotel was a big disappointment.
Rooms very small and cramped and although they are non-smoking guest group together on balconies to smoke and smoke filters into rooms,also very noisy because of this//
T.V very old model with very bad reception//buffet breakfast very limited and not enough seating area,some people had to eat standing//.
Also the car-park is not free....$17.20 per night.....this is not acceptable.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    87
    128
    122
    253
See reviews for
118
128
110
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This place is awful, I would not recommend this place to anyone unless you don't mind being kept awake all night by people drinking and smoking and generally making a lot of noise. Although this place is only 20 minutes walk from Union Square you have to walk through one of the most unsafe parts of town meaning that it wasn't all that accessible. There was never anyone in the office, we had to wait 15 to 20 minutes for anyone to help us. The room was not particularly clean, there were burn holes in the sheets and the room smelled horrible. There was no safe in the room and I was reluctant to leave anything in our room. We were originally booked to stay for four nights and only lasted two, when on the second night there was a party going on in the room next door, the people in that room attempted to break through the door between the rooms and we had to put up with the smell of weed wafting into our room all night. Upon informing the owner of this the next day - he simply shrugged shoulders and was not at all interested. For $175 a night this place was an absolute rip off.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The only thing I liked about this hotel was the towels and toiletries in the bathroom and the location was close to mass-transit and in walking distance to local eateries, but the rooms were not clean and the walls were thin. My floors were sticky, my sheets were thin, and the front desk was not helpful when I called to complain about noisy neighbors.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

DO NOT BOOK HERE,Ive stayed in some pretty bad places around the world but this really topped it off... We instantly pulled up to find a man inside the hotel bins and people drinking in the parking lot, went inside to check in, no staff for 20 mins then the man in front of us had had his car stolen and a lady had her phone stolen from her room. We decided to laugh it off and check the room out... worst mistake ever, it stank of drugs, the sheets were dirty and the window broken allowing anyone in San Francisco to walk straight into the room with no security at all, after complaining we were moved to another room which was slightly better, but all ready traumatised by the experience we decided there was no way we were staying there, calling the helpful team at booking.com they managed to negotiate with the owner to give us a refund for one night but we still had to pay $105 to not stay there!?? DO NOT BOOK HERE

Room Tip: The best western was a great hotel in an awesome part of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Travelodge Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Central

Address: 1707 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Central 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco, on Market Street, midway between downtown and the colorful Castro District, our hotel is the perfect place for travelers to stay when visiting San Francisco. All our rooms feature in-room coffee, safe and hairdryer, telephone data port, and cable television with HBO/CNN/ESPN. Guests also enjoy a free continental breakfast and weekday USA Today newspaper in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Travelodge Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Central Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.