We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the basics” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Central to your Saves list
Travelodge Central
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1707 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #212 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    81
    110
    105
    217
See reviews for
104
106
95
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as a small part of an extended trip. We chose it for the location; accomodation in SF is not cheap and this was a way to see the city on a budget. I read the reviews beforehand and understood you get what you pay for and I am usually fine with this (especially for 3 nights), but in this case I wish I had paid the price to be somewhere else. This hotel is in a very dodgy part of town. The stretch of Market St from the hotel into town is run down and full of homeless people and gangs. When I say full, I mean hundreds. It is totally unsafe to walk at night. When sleeping at night all you can hear is shouting and police sirens, and one evening the police actually turned up to the hotel due to some incident in the room next door to us. The rooms themselves were fine considering the price we paid, and the breakfast was really good but I felt so unsafe. We took valuables and passports out with us every night because we geniunely expected that the room would be robbed at some point. I would avoid this one and pay a bit more to be in a nicer area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

DEFINITELY do not stay here!!!!! Filthy, noisy and over priced!!!!!! Won't be staying here again. Needs updating. Room 323 is noisy, shower makes an awful noise, walls thin, heard everything happening in the next room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

If we could rate this negative stars we would! My husband had to stay here for an IT convention this past week. The hotel his company originally booked was 2.5 hours away so we booked him this place last minute on Expedia. For $330 per night you get a small, poorly equipped, dirty room (found cut finger nails on the floor), located in not the nicest area of town. There were shady "deals" going on behind the hotel, yelling and crying coming from one rooms all hours of the night and to top it off my husband came back with bed bugs! The hotel of course denies it but as we were working up the ladder of managers at Expedia trying to get some sort of refund we discovered this website called www.bedbugregistry.com and there were dozens of reviews about his hotel and the management denying it.

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently stayed st your place on market st sf The rooms are a bit worn but ok for what i was there for I neede to see what the hustle and street life was like. Your place gave me just that view with a touch of saftey. I liked the entire staff. I think rosa the head of room cleaning shouldn't have stood in the doorway and screamed to get out cause she needed the room while i already had my bags packed. But considering the situation as a whole i can understand why she doesn't put up with the crap. I left my id and cc in the room along with my red tenny pumas shoes. Id appreciate if she will return them.
Erick the security guard was awesome and quite informative about how the streets work after being there for two years i guess he would. The room was left a bit messy and i apologize for that . Usually when i rent a room somewhere its orderly and neat when i check out. No hard feelings here as long as my credit card and driver license and red pumas
are returned. When i try to reach house keeping again. After 9 am today. I know for a fact that they were left there and where they were left. So please return them when i ask this morning.
Thanks jimmy cundiff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Central

Address: 1707 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Central 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco, on Market Street, midway between downtown and the colorful Castro District, our hotel is the perfect place for travelers to stay when visiting San Francisco. All our rooms feature in-room coffee, safe and hairdryer, telephone data port, and cable television with HBO/CNN/ESPN. Guests also enjoy a free continental breakfast and weekday USA Today newspaper in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Central Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.