We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Central

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Central
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1707 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #211 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I spent a night in jail that was nicer than this place. For $250 a night you should stay at any other place in town. The TV was out because the bill had not been paid. The location is nice but that is the only positive about this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    80
    103
    100
    204
See reviews for
98
100
91
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I made a one night reservation for last Saturday. When I arrived to check in, the clientele was extremely dodgy. It was before noon and people were loitering and drinking outside. The girl checking in in front of me was loudly discussing with the clerk how she was there to reunite with her BF from prison. It only got worse from there. When I checked in to room 109 (several doors down from the "lobby") I nearly slipped on the damp tile floors when to my surprise the room was already occupied by a large rat. I immediately closed the door and walked back to the "lobby" when another rat ran across the threshold in front of me. I advised Matthew who identified himself as the manager that I did not accept the rat occupied room. He refused to offer another room and when I said I was leaving and wanted a receipt that I was not being charged he refused to refund my money. He was unprofessional and unreasonable and told me to call their corporate office who were also unhelpful. I am disputing with my credit card and will NEVER look at Travelodge again! Save yourself the time and aggravation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Okay, I've been staying in hotels while I look for a room mate or a studio, I have been in several different "affordable" hotels in the area, this place wins hands down, apparently it's under new management and the new manager Matthew W is courteous, polite, professional, and in the time I've been in this hotel he has remained consistent and with everyone. The staff have gone out their way to be accommodating and non intrusive. Even the maintenance guy is cool and helped translate between me and my house keeper. I have been treated so badly at other similar hotels by the staff, this has been really refreshing, and the location is awesome there are some negative points, the tv's are turning weird sepia colors, and get maybe ten or fifteen non latin stations, they charge you to park in their lot, the breakfast could be better but their rate is the best in town. The rooms are clean and the beds are clean and crisp and bed bug free unlike some other more expensive places.on 7th ave between Howard and Folsom . Anyway. That's my second review of a hotel and I'm glad it could be so positive.

Room Tip: I like to be away from the street so they put me in a tiny room in the far back corner 116, I loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had to cancel my reservation because of the weather. I called in plenty of time to cancel, but they refused to refund my money. I am sure they rented out the room, therefore getting double what they would. The CEO of the corp made over $10 million last year. $70 is nothing to him. But to those of us on Social Security, it is a weeks groceries. I will never use Travelodge or Wyndham hotel accommodations again. Dont book this place unless you are willing to lose money

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Two things right away about the location:
1. It's right on the MUNI F-line that takes you down Market, The Embarcadero, and the Fisherman's Wharf
2. It's on the outskirts of the seedy Tenderloin, but also close to the edges of the touristy Market/Financial District, the re-gentrifying urbanite Mission district, and the laid-back Castro District (LGBT)

When given that, ...:
1. If you're here to do sightseeing on vacation, your hotel room is just a place to sleep anyways. The Travelodge Central rooms are small and not great, but are fine and kept clean. The MUNI F-line and a few bus routes are within a block, and you can buy a MUNI pass just 2 blocks away
2. There is a diversity in clientele there. Maybe some clientele or Tenderloin folks loiter (not all smokers are smoking tobacco...), but no one at the hotel will bug you. You might see more homeless on Market St near the hotel more than in Powell or Powell subway station, but not as much as Civic Center station. If this hotel were actually in the Tenderloin, I'd be a little scared. I'd also be scared if it was in a forest full of hungry bears.

The staff was pretty good, actually. In particular, there was a young guy at the front desk who had a pleasant personality, and somehow maintained it and helped my dad plan out our entire 5-day vacation, despite my dad's almost OCD-like anxious repetitiveness. It's impressive that my dad was satisfied.

When you consider that you are in downtown SF, the $12 parking fee is a deal, as are the room rates. The breakfast is meager, but who cares -- use the money you save to enjoy the city, eat out, travel, etc.

Room Tip: If you're not a smoker, don't get a room near any smoking rooms, and you should be fine. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Central

Address: 1707 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Central 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco, on Market Street, midway between downtown and the colorful Castro District, our hotel is the perfect place for travelers to stay when visiting San Francisco. All our rooms feature in-room coffee, safe and hairdryer, telephone data port, and cable television with HBO/CNN/ESPN. Guests also enjoy a free continental breakfast and weekday USA Today newspaper in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Travelodge Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Central Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.