We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gitane

Gitane
6 Claude Lane, San Francisco, CA (Union Square)
(415) 788-6686
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gitane is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #685 of 5,058 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Union Square
Cross street: Bush St & Kearny St
Transit: Muni: 2, 3, 4, 22, 30 Bart: Montgomery Street station
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I dined there on Wed night. We dined outside which was fun and the heaters ensured we were warm enough on a cold night. We opted for the tasting menu with wine at $105 each. For 5 courses and wines this is great value. The food was absolutely delicious and the wines were lovely. The staff were very friendly and polite with good descriptions of the food and drinks. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    48
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Outstanding Spanish Restaurant in San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Located in a small laneway (Claude Lane) between Bush and Sutter Streets downtown is an intriguing spanish restaurant. An inviting entrance, subdued lighting and friendly staff welcomed our party of three for dinner.
Seated upstairs, our waiter was extremely attentive. We ordered three shared plates for appetizers, including marinated sardines, scallops and lamb. Entrees were outstanding with the sturgeon one of the best fish dishes I have experienced. The beef served medium rare was also close to perfect and the duck confit was also outstanding. The wine list of Spanish and Californian wine was interesting and we ordered an Albarino from Spain which was excellent at $65.00. The cheese plate was also outstanding as was the chocolate dessert.
The waiter was helpful and attentive and overall we had a great night at a very reasonable $120 per person including wine.
An excellent night out!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“the space and drinks outshine the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

walking in one feels transported to an old european space- warm rich colors and vibrant art-
we were seated right away and had a great corner table upstairs- it does not get very loud which is such a nice surprise as most places these days you just assume will be loud. Waiter for attentive and there when we needed- very nice selection of wines and cocktails- i had Sangria which was "americanized" it did not have all the lovely fruit i come to expect in a great one- the menu offers a nice variety of vegetable- seafood and meat options with very traditional spanish flair. Everything was good but just that- not great- The Jamon which is typically served with tomato bread in spain was just 4 slices on a plate with a few marcona almonds- yes it was good but give me some bread please. the canaloni dish and the albondigas tasted like they were using the same smoky tomato sauce for each dish- nothing special. If you want a break from Union Square shopping- it is a nice option that you will enjoy but it does not live up to the reviews i have read.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Michael Bauer gave Gitane a glowing review, it's in a great location, and it was packed with diners. So, what could go wrong? The much heralded appetizers of Pescado Asado and Pato, which were good but not great, should have set off the warning lights; however, we had read the reviews and knew a great meal was just around the corner. Instead, we were served a dry and overcooked monkfish entree along with a tough and impossible-to-chew-let-alone-swallow duck breast with confit. What a disappointment. There are too many excellent San Francisco restaurants; Piperade, Prospect, Coqueta, Barbacco, and Cotogna for example, with interesting menus in the same price range, to return to the hyped-but-below-average Gitane.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“I won't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The other people who wrote great reviews for this place obviously are not Spanish. We went with a Spanish friend and, starting with the French name, she did not recognize a lot of Spanish food there.

Overall, the food was good but it simply as not authentic Spanish food as advertised. My husband ordered ice cream, and for $4 got a tiny scoop :-). I won't go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gitane also viewed

 

Been to Gitane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gitane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.