We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super B&B in San Francisco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Country Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Country Cottage
5 Dolores Terrace, San Francisco, CA 94110   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
montana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Super B&B in San Francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Found this little place online and boy was it great. Very reasonably priced, great neighborhood and wonderful innkeepers. We suggested an upgrade on coffee and linens and pillows, which the hostess agreed with. Wonderful cute little place.!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
18
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 days for our first trip to San Francisco. Susan the innkeeper gave us a great orientation the first day which was invaluable in planning our fantastic stay in the city. Her breakfasts were similar an always included deliciously prepared eggs and different meats, fruit and pastry. The other guests included repeat customers and first timers from all over. The home is comfortable and refreshingly quiet given the busy nature of the city and the inn's close proximity to public transportation, the Buy-Rite Creamary and other excellent restaurants and shops on Vallencia, Castro and 18th street,

Room Tip: The clipper card worked on all public transportation and a $25 deposit on was plenty for many trips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice Little house in Good area. Very quiet and very nice innkeeper - Susan made wonderful breakfast and gave us good tips. Bedrooms are quite small especially the upstairs room, I would recommend to book one of the other rooms since they are bigger. We had a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days. We loved the place. The 1 problem we had was that we drove in from Tucson and had to park our car at the garage on Mission and Bartlett Streets - which is about a mile away. We parked our car there and left it there for the rest of the trip. There is no parking on the street or anywhere on the property. After arriving there 10 p.m, a long drive from Tucson, we found the key exactly where the innkeeper told us it would be. We got in and were very glad that the place was clean and we could use the restrooms. The bedroom was charming and clean. The bed is very comfortable. Even though it is centrally located and all 4 rooms at the bed and breakfast were occupied, we didn't hear anything at night. Each breakfast was created by Reddy, the innkeeper. I told her that I was a vegetarian and she made me special servings of whatever everyone else was having. She is an excellent cook and hostess. Part of the excellent experience we had was because of the other guests. We got to meet them and learn a little bit about their culture and home country during breakfast. We also got to talk a little about where we went the previous day and what our plans were for each new day. Reddy supplied us with some suggestions and books about where we could visit. There are 3 bedrooms downstairs and 1 upstairs. There is a bathroom on each floor. Once, the bathroom on the first floor was occupied so I had to go upstairs. Reddy mentioned that the people on the top floor don't pay extra for having a separate bathroom, so everyone can use whichever bathroom was not occupied. The property itself is small but very well-kept. I like the plants in the back and the quaint dead-end street about a 5-minute walk from both the Castro and Haight-Ashbury districts. Lastly, consider getting a 3-day Muni pass. The pass was $21 and included all buses, electric trolleys and cable cars. It only includes the subways which stay in San Francisco, not BART which goes into other cities. But at this location, you will not need to use BART anyway. There is a bus stop a few minutes walk from the inn.

Room Tip: If you can get the room on the top floor, you will probably have the bathroom to yourselves, especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights in June. I am pretty new to the B&B style but I really enjoy it. This B &B is on a very quiet street which was really nice after being in the noise of the city. Public transportation is about an easy ten minute walk for BART or the MUNI busses. The rooms and house are nice making this B & B an affordable alternative to staying in the center everything. The inn keeper Susan, was a wonderful host! She spent time talking to us and giving us detailed instructions on how to get around and also recommended places to eat in the area. Susan cooked breakfast for us both mornings. Everything was tasted great. She was very attentive to the guests needs and even took time to remember everyone's names.my daughter is vegan so Susan made sure to have something suitable for her at breakfast. Other than breakfast time and check in time, you are given space and privacy. Of note, there is no parking on Dolores Terrace so keep that in mind if you are bringing a car. There is parking at the end of the block on the other street, about a 2 min walk..and it is free. There is a very popular ice cream shop, Bi-Rite on the corner which Susan recommended highly. It was one of the best ice creams I've had. She also recommended Gracias Madre, a vegan Mexican restaurant which was also very tasty

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I have stayed at A Country Cottage three times. I like the Garden Room because it is bright and airy and opens up onto a little patio. If you want peace and quiet, this is the place for you. Well equiped with everything you need. The owner is very accomodating and the price is a real bargain for San Francisco. This visit was a little different as there was no innkeeper(I was informed in advance and received a discount) but ordinarily the service is excellent. Also easy access by BART to airport and downtown. Walking distance to Noe Valley, the Castro and right in the Mission.

Room Tip: All are quiet. Three downstairs share one bathrom and then one upstairs has a separate bathroom. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

A Country Cottage has it all - reasonable price, great breakfasts, wonderful location, charming hospitality. It's right across the street from Dolores Park and close to the sunny Mission district and walkable to the Castro. Good access to BART and to many restaurants. I have stayed here 3 times and will come back again and again.

Room Tip: I prefer to stay in the upstairs room. Smaller but more private. But all rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Country Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Country Cottage

Address: 5 Dolores Terrace, San Francisco, CA 94110
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Also Known As:
a Country Cottage Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Country Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A Country Cottage to your Saves list