We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place, Great Service and Interesting Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limon Rotisserie

Limon Rotisserie
1001 South Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94110 (Mission District)
415-821-2134
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Limon Rotisserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #168 of 5,093 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Mission District
Cross street: 21st Street
Transit: Bart stop at 24th St. and Mission, walk down on Mission to 21st St. and make a right towards South Van Ness a block away. Also 14, 49 and 12 Muni Buses.
Description: Limon Rotisserie, best chicken in town, great Peruvian food, good value and good service.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun Place, Great Service and Interesting Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat for dinner and stumbled across Limon. The energy and buzz inside caught my eye, along with the clean and trendy decor. We were seated immediately even thought it was super busy.

The waters were attentive and helpful without being too in your face.
As for the food, fantastic. We had the quarter chicken which was plenty to share for 2 people. Moved on to a beet/avocado/bean/carrot salad which was all perfectly cooked and tender, so tasty! We also ordered the limon fish dish and it also did not disappoint.

Overall we couldnt have been happier with all entire experience and walked away full and all for under $60.00 Recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    23
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I loved it! Very cosy restaurant, very friendly staff! Although I didn't have a reservation and it was busy I was seated immediately. I had no idea about the Peruvian cuisine and the waiter explained me the whole menu. I had their roasted chicken and it was delicious. I also had Peruvian beer and some side dishes. I enjoyed my night and would like to thank the people who made it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Walked straight in and had an extraordinary meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had read this was a highly ranked restaurant and it certainly won us over.

We were seated immediately despite the restaurant looking full and the waiters were extremely helpful by guiding us through the menu and giving us time to place our order.

Limon is known for it's marinated rotisserie chicken so we ordered a 'half chicken' which comes with two sides of your choice and aji sauces. We chose the camote frito (sweet potato fries) and vegetables salteados - seasonal veggies. All of the above with the trio of sauces was simply divine. We also ordered the Ahi tuna tartare which was a beautiful balance of roasted peppers, pine nuts, and sesame seed oil as a 'salad' option. There is some great looking ceviche on the menu too.

Limon is such a buzzy restaurant and ideal for groups and couples - we were nestled between two dates!

Must not forget to add that it's very reasonable too. Winner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Got a same day reservation for our group on a Friday night which was a good idea given how busy they were that evening, my guess is that it's always like that, a long wait if you show up after 7 or so.

We started with a pitcher of Sangria that was good but not special in any way. I had the quarter rotisserie chicken with sweet potato fries and tacu-tacu (seasoned rice and beans) on the side which was all tasty and great. I also tried the carne empanadas which were very good as well.

The ambiance is nice and the location on Valencia is great too, a busy neighborhood with lots of choices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peruvian, super tasty, no wait, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

what more do you need to know. local is 1 block away from the Inn of San Francisco.
i wasn't expecting anything, but the roasted chicken rubbed with peruvian spices was really really good. very nice sauces on the side. remarkably good, at reasonable prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limon Rotisserie also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Limon Rotisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limon Rotisserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.