We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baldwin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Baldwin Hotel to your Saves list
Baldwin Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Stratford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

There are so many "big" places if you like "big" places. This was more like home away from home. Everything was clean, beds were comfy and staff were very nice. Any complaint was the noise, but it was Chinese New Year and we did not expect it to be quiet. Garbage pick up at night was a bit noisy too, but short-lived.
Oh, and the location couldn't be better.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    591
    163
    30
    19
See reviews for
156
525
127
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I did a lot of research on where to stay in San Francisco while i was in the US on my budget and i came across the Baldwin. It was a reasonable price, within my budget and it was in a central place so i didn't know what to expect.
Once i got there i was pleasantly surprised! The room i was in was kind of small but was enough for me. The staff were very helpful with directions and they very nice to speak to.
The location was great since its in Union Square so not far from shopping plus the tourist buses come straight past the hotel so its helpful to get places.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the Baldwin hotel in December and enjoyed our stay. It is very well located to Chinatown and Union square. The room furniture is pretty basic, but when you're on holiday you don't tend to spend much too time in your room. Like anything, you get what you pay for, the Baldwin isn't super expensive, and therefore isn't luxurious, but it is clean and tidy and safe and very well located. The room cleaners were fantastic!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This purpose of this trip was to see a famous and my favorite painting. It wasn't about accommodations. I was pleasantly surprised with the Baldwin. Perfect location, decent price, clean and nice staff. I saw some reviews about it being noisey. Our room was on Grant, third floor. It was noisey with the window open and I loved that we could open the window. The noise was the city, no complaints. I will stay at the Baldwin again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The location is amazing! Walk distance to union square and many, many, many stores where you will spent your money! This is the best region on SF to go shopping and know the best restaurants. You can take the Red Tour Bus right in front the hotel. The hotel doesnt have breakfast but you have many options 2 or 3 minutes walking. All the staff is chinese and friendly. Everyday one of your towels will be folded as a different animal. Amazing!

you can't sleep with the windows open because its a noise city , noise streets but with the window closed, you can't hear nothing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Rated only 2 stars, I was expecting very basic accommodations in exchange for a cheap price. The room, bathroom, and lobby were super clean. Bed was comfy and the daily towel animals were hilarious. I didn't notice any street noise at all (9th floor) although the room's radiator was a bit noisy...probably because I had it turned completely off. Great location 1 block from Chinatown, 2 blocks from Union Square and BART. Easy access in and out...which is a nice change from the "big" hotels that require you to navigate a huge lobby and long waits for elevators. My only complaint is that the room keys are actual keys on a keychain...not as easy or convenient as a keycard and you'll have to pay if you lose it. I would definitely stay here again...especially when it's half the price of a big hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The location is really great - near union square, china town, and in 15 minutes walking proximity to the fisherman's wharf.
Besides the location, the rooms are relatively basic - doesn't even have a coffee machine inside them, but they're clean and will do the job.
Please note that as this is a central location, it is noisy. Don't choose it if it bothers you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baldwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldwin Hotel

Address: 321 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Baldwin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baldwin Hotel is a newly-renovated, charming European style hotel located beside one of San Francisco's landmarks, the Chinatown Dragon Gate. Situated in vibrant Union Square, we are an arm's length from fabulous shopping, exciting theater shows, and the world-famous cable cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Baldwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baldwin Hotel San Francisco
Baldwin San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baldwin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.