We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baldwin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Baldwin Hotel to your Saves list
Baldwin Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

The Baldwin is a fantastic little hotel. Just a stone's throw from China Town, a couple on blocks from Market and Union Square. Cable cars also very close. The rooms are clean and pleasant. The area is perfectly safe. It's not perfect, but the reasonable price makes it excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    564
    150
    30
    18
See reviews for
144
504
123
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto,Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first trip to San Francisco after spending a few days in Vegas.The hotel is over 100 years old but has had renovations.Decent size rooms with free WiFi.The staff was very helpful with any questions that we had.The hotel is a stones throw from China Town and just around the corner from Union Square.The Hop on Hop off bus stops across the streeet from the hotel.The walk to the piers is about 30 to 40 minutes up and down hills.If I returned to San Fran I would definately stay in this hotel and I would also recomend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel has a great location, especially for the price. I've never been to San Francisco before, but we easily took the BART from the airport and walked to this hotel from the Powell station. We were on the 8th floor facing the street and it was a little loud late at night. But, we were so exhausted by the day activities, that the street noise didn't bother us much. If your looking for a great location, and can't spend $250-$300 night, this hotel is a great option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our first visit to San Francisco (We are all over 70 and not exactly miobile)
I booked this hotel as it was a reasonable price, had good reviews and in a safe part of the city. It is about 50 yards from the entrance to China town and 45 yards from a Starbucks. There are a few restaurants around. We did all the usual touristy things including riding the cable-car and getting a 2 day pass for one of the open-air bus companies from the reception. The bus company we picked went to Sausilito which is a very nice place to visit, you will definitely need to wear a sweater or jacket because it gets very cold on top of an open air bus, especially going over the Golden Gate bridge. I fact you will probably need to make sure you take a sweater with you becasue it gets very chilly in the evening. I would like a restaurant and bar in the hotel and it would make it perfect. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The web-site photos are pretty accurate.

Room Tip: I don't think there is any difference between, we were on the 7th floor with a Queen room and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is located in an excellent location and very convenient to get to China town, Union Square and all major transportation needs for the Bay area. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Rooms are clean and smoke free and are great value for USD100+ per night. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

If you want to pay 350-400/ night to stay in downtown San Francisco look elsewhere. I agree with all the other favorable reviews. For a little over100$/night this hotel is a bargain. Great location to everything Bart,muni,cable cars restaurants. Very nice staff,and the entire hotel is very clean and smoke free. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed at the Baldwin Hotel midway through a trip down the West coast of Canada and The US.

The Hotel is in a great location metres away from China Town and only a few minutes away from Union Square and the BART system. The trams and street cars are only a few blocks away as well. If you fancy exploring there is a Hop on – Hop Off bus stop just across the street, great for taking you down to Pier 39 and Fisherman’s Wharf. Some reviewers have commented about the area the Hotel is located in and the beggars, we didn’t find this a problem at all. Yes there are one or two out and about on the street, as you would expect in any major city, but they didn’t present any problem. As for the area, we felt safe walking around it, there will always be bad neighbourhoods in cities, but the Baldwin is not located in one.

As for the hotel we weren’t expecting much, but were pleasantly surprised. The rooms aren’t huge, but you are staying in a Boutique Hotel in a city centre, so space is limited. There was enough space for the two of us to use and unpack and spread items out. The rooms were clean, if somewhat dated, but still perfectly serviceable. The view we had wasn’t great, looking out over the side of the building, but you don’t go to hotel in the centre of the city to look out the window, you go to explore. The Bathroom was adequate in size, and was cleaned daily, so no complaints. A nice touch each day we had a different towel folder animal on the bed after the room had been cleaned.

Free Wi-Fi in the rooms was also much appreciated, as it meant we could plan our days and do a bit of research before heading out. The staff on the Front Desk were willing to answer questions and advise on what to do, so overall fairly impressed, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baldwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldwin Hotel

Address: 321 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Baldwin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baldwin Hotel is a newly-renovated, charming European style hotel located beside one of San Francisco's landmarks, the Chinatown Dragon Gate. Situated in vibrant Union Square, we are an arm's length from fabulous shopping, exciting theater shows, and the world-famous cable cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Baldwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baldwin Hotel San Francisco
Baldwin San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baldwin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.