We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Friendly & Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Broadway

Save Saved
You added Inn on Broadway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn on Broadway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Formerly Broadway Manor Inn) (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Budget Friendly & Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This motel is in Pacific Heights and close to everything. It is an older property and as such is showing some wear and tear. The rooms are clean, with updated TV, baths, microwave ovens and refrigerators. The parking is free. It is walking distance to some very nice restruants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    84
    77
    45
    42
See reviews for
57
87
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Everyone knows,or you can imagine,that S.F. is an expensive place to be, and therefor the Inn o.B. was a good choice for us. The room was clean, the receptionist was doing her job and the parking was free - you really do not need a car in S.F. not least because it is almost impossible to find a free parking space. Our first night was not so great,because it was so noisy - mostly because of partying people,and someone a floor up was constantly walking around (really annoying) - the following nights was just the traffic noise and the "sleepwalker". ;-) But hey, the Inn o.B. is a great spot to start exploring the city: public traffic, best breakfast bagels, shops,restaurants,...within walking distance. And believe me, earplugs can work miracles.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Reservation was taken over phone.. It was quick, painless and fuss free.

When we arrived, our rooms were ready for us.. We spent little time filling up forms. It was all prepared before hand - including the card keys and wireless access codes. I was pleasantly surprised to see all these done. The receptionist was friendly and efficiently. We had free parking too.

The rooms were spacious with two queen size beds. There was adequate amenities and the large Samsung flat TV loaded with a huge number of channels.

The location is great to public access with restaurants lacing Polk street one block away.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Whhhhhats up! I m a 25yr old guy from Pa and I just stayed in this hotel 12/7/12-12/12/11/12 and it was the best for the price. The room had two nice beds and a plasma sumsung with Comcast (bunch of channels). A friend and I stayed here after traveling from from San Diego to Oakland and then to SF. I admit the elevator is real shady but it's only 3 stories u can use the steps!! The bathroom was nice, shower pressure was above average, a tile was missing from the sink but i heard them renovating next door so they're probably updating soon. The cleaning ladies are always ready to clean the room. It's not a five star hotel but Its in the middle of a lot of stuff and there are bars on Van Ness which were awesome. Parking was fine at the building. It cost $10 to catch a cab to Fishermans Warf/ $7 to broadway&coloumbus / $20 to the mission district. You can walk to a lot of things but get ready these hills are insane!!!! Bottom line this is the place to stay if you wanna ball on a budget and have a secure place. Place was ALOT nicer than the reviews!!!

Room Tip: Room 219 baby!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My best friend and I pulled up at the Broadway inn exhausted from a 2day drive, desperate for a rest Walked into the slightly less appealing "reception area" stained stinky carpet, uninviting stench and terrible service, we continued with our reservation for the price. Parked and took our bags upstairs, the floor throughout the entire place was grubby, the elevator creaked and sounded as if it was struggling to make it up the floors, opened the door to our room where the warm welcome was an overwhelming odour, placed out bags onto the beds, had a quick scan of the room lined with some more heavily stained carpet. Thinking it would be ok, walked into the bathroom to use the toilet only to find it had already been used... STILL giving this place the benefit of the doubt we left our things and went to dinner down the street. After walking by far more appealing inns at basically the same price, we started to re think. Asked a few locals what we could expect and our response from each differed between, paper thin walls "dont expect any shut eye if youre a light sleeper" too having randoms bashing on your door during the night, and the deal breaker... "possible bed bugs". Feeling dirty, we booked a new room at a place down the street, we returned to get our stuff and drop the key back to the front desk where we sugar coated why we were leaving to save the staff at the counter embarrassment, after the rude response and disgusting service we received she said she could try get a refund organised but we would have to phone later as her manager was out. Phoned back around 30mins later to see the progress on the refund, only to be told our bed had been used.. ( top sheet slightly peeled back to search for those bed bugs) and only half the price could be refunded THEN HUNG UP ON US. Absolutely disgraceful! Travelled across the whole US and not once did we come across a place as horrendous as this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Ok... so Van Ness Avenue is noisy. The constant drone of daytime and evening traffic is not the problem... it's the 3am dump trucks, fire engines and street sweepers that will wrench you from the arms of Morpheus.

However... If you can get a room 3 or 4 back from the road (and not overlooking Broadway), you'll probably be fine. I was initially in a room on the Van Ness end and it was dire. I asked to be moved and the receptionist was happy to oblige, moving me to a room about 4 from the end, and it was MUCH better.

Also, if you turn on the air con, you might notice a faint urine smell. I thought someone had pee'd on the air inlet, but later discovered (when I changed rooms) this is the smell of the carpet 'freshener'.

The location (Pacific Heights) is great. Very safe and charming, with a regular bus service right out front, a great brunch diner on the corner and the cool neighbourhood area of Polk St and Union St (rather upmarket) each a short walk away.

I was in town on the busiest weekend of the year and was left with limited options for reasonably priced accommodation. I made a good choice (once I'd moved rooms).

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the northern wing (where the reception is) and at least 3 units from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have stayed at this clean and comfortable hotel over the past few years. It's ALWAYS CLEAN and very convenient to the night life and public transportation. They have free parking too.

I usually stay here for Business and recommend it to friends that don't want to pay $400.00 and up in SF.

The manager Rahil, does a great job to make sure you have a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Broadway

Address: 2201 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Formerly Broadway Manor Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Broadway 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly and completely renovated, the Inn on Broadway welcomes you. Our customer service staff receives each guest with exceptional service and a pleasant smile. FREE PARKING is available for all of our guests. Our on-site restaurant offers a quick and delicious way to grab a bite to eat before exploring San Francisco's beauty. Located in a safe and convenient neighborhood of San Francisco, the Inn on Broadway is within walking distance of the legendary Cable Car route, Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown and our City's famous 'Crookedest Street'. The Inn on Broadway's spacious rooms include: Flat Screen TVs, In-room microwave & fridge, Modern and newly renovated rooms, In-room coffee and tea, FREE Hi-speed wireless Internet access, Expanded Cable TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN100% Non-smoking rooms, Iron & ironing boards, Direct dial phones with dataport. The Inn on Broadway is a quality approved member of AAA and the San Francisco Convention and Visitor's Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Inn on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Broadway Hotel San Francisco
Broadway Manor Hotel
Broadway Manor San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.